• Virat Kohli has taken 112 innings to hit 17 hundreds in ODIs, 58 fewer than Sourav Ganguly who was the fastest to 17 ODI hundreds before him. Saeed Anwar, the next quickest batsman to 17 ODI hundreds, took 177 innings.

  • Kohli aggregated 1000 runs in ODIs in 2013, when he crossed 82 runs in this innings. This is the third consecutive calendar year in which Kohli has aggregated 1000 or more ODI runs. He became the fourth batsman in ODIs after Sourav Ganguly (1997-2000), Sachin Tendulkar (1996-98) and MS Dhoni (2007-09) to hit 1000 or more ODI runs in three or more consecutive calendar years.

  • Kohli's 61-ball hundred was India's third-fastest in ODIs. He came close to bettering Virender Sehwag's 60-ball hundred for the second time in 15 days. In the second match of this series, Kohli had broken India's record for the fastest-hundred in ODIs, which was previously held by Sehwag.

  • Kohli scored his 11th hundred in chases and moved to second place, with Chris Gayle, in the list of batsmen with most centuries in chases. Sachin Tendulkar heads the list with 17 hundreds in chases. All of Kohli's 11 hundreds in chases have resulted in wins. Only Tendulkar, with 14 hundreds in successful chases, has a better record. Five of these hundreds for Kohli have come chasing targets of 300 or more.

  • Kohli is the first batsman to make five successive scores of 50 or more in ODIs on two separate occasions. In his last five innings, he has scores of 68*, 61, 100*, 68 and 115*. Between February 28 and July 21, 2012, he had scored four centuries and a 66 in five consecutive innings.

  • MS Dhoni became the second India batsman after Sachin Tendulkar to aggregate 1000 or more ODI-runs against Australia. Dhoni has taken 29 innings, while Tendulkar took 20. Tendulkar has scored the most runs in ODIs against Australia. Dhoni scored his 34th unbeaten innings in successful chases. He has now moved ahead of Jonty Rhodes as the batsman to remain unbeaten the most number of times in successful chases.

  • The sixth ODI in Nagpur was only the second instance in ODI history that four individual centuries were scored. The first one also involved Australia, against Pakistan at Lahore in 1998. Australia ended up winning on that occasion, though.

  • India's opening pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma are by far the most prolific ODI pair of 2013: in 18 innings they've added 1068 runs at an average of 62.82. They've put together five century stands this year, no other pair has managed more than two.

  • Dhawan's 100 - his fourth century in ODIs - took his aggregate in the format to 1000 runs. It took him only 24 innings to get there, which makes him the joint-fastest among Indians, with Virat Kohli. Only five batsmen have got there in fewer innings.

  • Bailey's series aggregate of 474 is the best by any batsman in a bilateral series. With one match still left, he has already gone past the previous record of 467, set by Zimbabwe's Hamilton Masakadza in a five-match series against Kenya in 2009. Bailey is more than 100 runs clear of the next-best aggregate by an Australian in a bilateral series - Andrew Symonds had scored 365 in six innings on the tour to India in 2007.

  • During the course of his 156, Bailey went past 1500 ODI runs in only his 32nd innings. Only Hashim Amla has done it faster, in 30 innings.

  • Bailey has become only the ninth Australian to score 1000 or more ODI runs in a calendar year. In 19 innings this year, he has an aggregate of 1040, at an average of 69.33 and a strike rate of 98.29. Ricky Ponting achieved it six times, while Matthew Hayden, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Watson, and Mark Waugh did it twice each.

  • Shane Watson and Bailey both scored centuries, the first instance of Australia's No. 3 and No. 4 batsmen getting hundreds in the same ODI. It was the tenth such instance for any team; the last time it happened was three years ago, in October 2010, by South Africa against Zimbabwe. It was only the third instance of two non-opening batsmen getting hundreds for Australia in an ODI.

  • Ravindra Jadeja, the bowler who finally dismissed Bailey is also the only one who has gone at less than a run a ball against him in the series. Against Jadeja, Bailey has scored 90 off 112 balls (run rate 4.82 per over). All the others have gone at more than six per over, with R Ashwin conceding the most runs - 106 off 86.

    Bailey v Indian bowlers in this series (Qual: 10 balls)
    Bowler Runs Balls Dismissals Runs per over
    R Ashwin 106 86 1 7.39
    Ravindra Jadeja 90 112 1 4.82
    Vinay Kumar 47 40 2 7.05
    Yuvraj Singh 45 35 0 7.71
    Ishant Sharma 44 31 0 8.51
    Bhuvneshwar Kumar 37 20 0 11.10
    Amit Mishra 33 28 0 7.07
    Mohammad Shami 29 16 0 10.87

  • Australia's batsmen have struck 47 sixes in five matches in the series so far. It's their highest in any bilateral series, and their second-highest in any series: they'd struck 67 sixes in 11 matches in the 2007 World Cup.

S Rajesh is stats editor, and Shiva is stats subeditor, of ESPNcricinfo. Follow Rajesh on Twitter