Matches (16)
CWC League 2 (1)
Men's Hundred (2)
Women's Hundred (2)
BAH v KUW (1)
BDESH-A in WI (1)
RL Cup (8)
WI v NZ (1)

Maharashtra knock out Karnataka; Vidarbha qualify

A round-up of Group A games of the Ranji Trophy played on December 4, 2015

Maharashtra 212 (Bawne 87, Aravind 3-35) and 260 (Mundhe 81, Tripathi 78, Vinay 4-71) beat Karnataka 180 (Sanklecha 4-58, Mundhe 3-54, Dhuma 3-36) and 239 (Gautam 65, Dhumal 5-78, Sanklecha 4-65) by 53 runs
Pacer Nikit Dhumal picked up five wickets in the second innings, to add to three in the first, to halt Karnataka's 37-match unbeaten streak in first-class cricket and knock them out of the Ranji Trophy. Anupam Sanklecha, who took four wickets, including the last two, ably complemented Dhumal, as Karnataka were dismissed for 239, chasing 293 in Pune.
Robin Uthappa began positively on the last day, hitting his 46th first-class fifty. However, he could not convert it into a big score and was pinned lbw by Sanklecha. The majority of the middle order fumbled, leaving much to do for CM Gautam and the lower order. He rallied with Vinay Kumar and S Aravind but eventually ran out of partners. Gautam remained unbeaten on 65 off 104 balls, including seven fours, as Karnataka came up short by 53 runs. Mahasrashtra, who were already out of contention for the quarter-finals, finished the season with a consolation win.
Vidarbha 504 for 7 dec (Fazal 126, Jangid 110, Sarwate 103) beat Haryana 241 (Saini 67, Shamsher 50, Jangid 4-44, Sarwate 4-50) and (f/0) 232 (Rohit 107, Jangid 7-59) by an innings and 31 runs
After having struck 110 with the bat, Ravi Jangid bowled Vidarbha to the knockouts with career-best figures of 7-59, which took his wickets tally in the match to 11. Jangid had toiled away for 41 overs and was assisted by spinner Akshay Wakhare who bowled 31.1 overs for two wickets. Yuzvendra Chahal, coming in at No.10 delayed the final rites with 0 off 77 balls.
Haryana, though, had begun well before falling away. Having been asked to follow on, Haryana had a solid platform thanks to Nitin Saini (42) and Mohit Hooda (38). Rohit Sharma scored his maiden first-class century even as he lacked substantial support from the middle and lower order. He was the ninth batsman, dismissed by Jangid, for 107 off 241 balls, as Haryana were bowled out for 232, nine less than their first-innings effort.
Bengal 444 for 6 dec (Goswami 112*, Shaw 99, Mondal 87) drew with Assam 143 (Tarjinder 50, Dinda 4-39) and 143 for 8 (Das 55, Gani 5-62)
Assam just about held on for a draw against Bengal in Guwahati, a result which ensured that both teams booked their berth for the Ranji knockouts. Assam, following on, needed at least 301 to make Bengal bat again, but as was the case in their first innings, the majority of their top and middle order failed to make good on their starts. Pallavkumar Das top-scored with 55, but offspinner Aamir Gani's five-wicket haul meant Assam lost wickets at regular intervals. Luckily for the hosts, though, a wet outfield before the start, and bad light towards the end of the day meant only 48 overs of play were possible, with Assam hanging on at 143 for 8.