The match being played at the Asghar Ali Shah Stadium commenced with Malaysia batting first. They opened the innings with Hairul Amirudeen and S. Sathiswaran against Singapore's bowling attack of Maxim Mok Kar Yuen and Siddharth Verma. The Malaysian openers provided their team a solid start when at the total of 86 Ameer ud Din was adjudged LBW to Zeeshan for 38. Sathiswaran the second opener was the next to go, being bowled by Zeeshan for 36. Malaysia lost 2 wickets for 100.

It was followed by a long and defiant partnership between Indran (55) and Vickneswaran (57) that yielded 98 runs. Piling up runs valiantly Malaysia ended its innings at 240 for the loss of only 4 wickets, offering Singapore a victory target of 241.

Singapore's innings

Facing a challenging target of 241 runs Singapore opened with Zeng Renchun and Anand Santhanam. They provided a sturdy start to the innings till Renchun was out after playing an exciting innings of 40. Singapore lost the first wicket at 72.To their dismay a collapse followed in which the team lost 5 quick wickets that brought down the score to 97 for 6 in 24 overs.

Zeeshan (50) and Glenn Meyer (32 not out) put up relentless efforts to stabilize the innings but the initial loss was rather too much to recover. They were still able to raise Sri Lanka to a respectable total of 192 in 39.5 overs. Peter Chung grabbed 4 wickets for 28 runs. Malaysia thus defeated Singapore by 48 runs.