Eoin Morgan has a chance to impress as Ireland begin their preparations for a major season © Getty Images
Jason Molins, the former Ireland captain, has been recalled to the squad for Ireland's pre-season tour of the Midlands. Molins, 31, missed out the Intercontinental cup success in Namibia last year but, with Andrew White and Niall O'Brien unavailable because of county commitments, a space has opened up.

There is one new face in the squad with Dave Langford-Smith, an Australian born allrounder, included for the first time. He has been drafted in as Ireland try to fill the opening bowler role, which they have struggled with in recent times. He is also a capable, hard-hitting batsman who will bolster the middle order.

Adrian Birrell, the Ireland coach, told Cricinfo that Molins deserved another chance, but his hand was slightly forced by the lack of young players making an impact. "He is a very good player who is proven against first-class attacks. His fitness has been in question but he has worked. I would have liked to have selected a youngster but they just aren't scoring the volume of runs I think are needed to play at this level."

Eoin Morgan, who was superb during the Under-19 World Cup in Sri Lanka, will have a further chance to impress as he switches his attention to the senior Ireland side. Morgan is keen to establish a place in the Middlesex first team, but also has one eye firmly on the World Cup in West Indies.

The tour of the Midlands is the start of a crucial season for Ireland as they continue their build-up to the World Cup next March. Following the matches against Loughborough UCCE and Derbyshire they take part in the new-style C&G Trophy, forming part of the south group, and will play nine matches against the counties. They then take on England for the first time in a full one-day international, at Belfast on June 13.

Ireland squad Trent Johnston (capt), Conor Armstrong, Andre Botha (North County), Jeremy Bray, Peter Gillespie, Dominic Joyce, David Langford-Smith, Kyle McCallan, Adrian McCoubrey, Jason Molins, John Mooney, Paul Mooney, Eoin Morgan.