Four out of 26 cricketers who played international matches for Bangladesh in the 2012-13 season have been kept out of a 30-member preliminary squad for the New Zealand series that begins in October this year.

Mohammad Ashraful (ACSU investigation), Abul Hasan (back injury), Enamul Haque jnr and Nazimuddin did not feature in the list selected by BCB. Of them, Enamul is currently playing club cricket in England, while Nazimuddin has been out of favour since playing a Test against West Indies in November last year.

Left-arm spinners Mosharraf Hossain and Saqlain Sajib found places in the preliminary squad, alongside Imrul Kayes, Raqibul Hasan, Farhad Reza, Mehrab Hossain jnr and Nazmul Hossain Milon.

Mosharraf was called up for the ODIs in Sri Lanka, but didn't play a match while Imrul, Raqibul and Mehrab earned call-ups through their domestic performances.

Some of these players are also likely to feature in the Bangladesh A team's tour of England later this summer, as well as the Under-23 side that will play in the ACC Emerging Teams Cup to be held in Singapore.

The players will have their fitness assessed, especially those who have been injured in the last three months. Mashrafe Mortaza, who last played in December 2012, has almost recovered from a heel injury, while the likes of Rubel Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain and Naeem Islam will be looked at.

Allrounder Shakib Al Hasan will miss the pre-tournament camp, as he is currently in the USA on holiday, and will later play for Leicestershire in the Friends Life T20 this year.

Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Jahurul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Anamul Haque, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Marshall Ayub, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Robiul Islam, Sajidul Islam, Elias Sunny, Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mosharraf Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Raqibul Hasan, Farhad Reza, Saqlain Sajib, Mehrab Hossain jnr, Nazmul Hossain Milon