Iain Robertson has been given the captaincy of the first Canterbury team named for the series of four trial matches to be played in the lead-up to the selection of the first State Championship team next month.

The first match of the trials, a 50-over match, will be played at Burwood Park on Sunday, starting at 11am between Canterbury and Canterbury Districts.

The Canterbury team is: Iain Robertson (captain), Tim Papps, Paul McCarthy, Hayden Wardrop, Neil Broom, Todd Astle, Andrew Robertson, Chris Sowden, Leighton Burtt, Jeremy Kench, Adam Chambers, Kris Howes.

The other trial games will be against Buller-West Coast at Westport (October 20), Canterbury Country at Rangiora (October 27), and South Canterbury at Timaru (November 3).

The Canterbury Districts team: Paul Rugg (captain, Canterbury Country), Luke McNeish (West Coast), Andrew Buckingham (South Canterbury), Andre de Joux (South Canterbury), Troy Scanlon (Buller), Danny Barclay (Canterbury Country), Danny Bulman (Canterbury Country), Simon Murphy (Canterbury Country), Todd Elliotte (South Canterbury), Patrick Reardon (Canterbury Country), Scott Bermingham (Buller). Coach: Neville Lyons.