Ross Taylor, the New Zealand batsman, became the third foreign player to sign for the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) after Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist. Six international players from West Indies have already confirmed their participation - Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Marlon Samuels.
"I am very excited about playing in the first ever edition of the CPL," Taylor said. "As current world champions, West Indies have been a force in T20 cricket over the past couple of years, and CPL should help uncover new international superstars in the mould of Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine. The Caribbean is one of my favourite places to play cricket and with the passionate crowds, great atmosphere and the athletic style of play, I'm looking forward to being a part of this exciting competition."
Taylor has 3450 runs in 151 Twenty20s at 30.80 with a strike rate of 142.79. He is currently playing in the Indian Premier League for his fourth franchise Pune Warriors, after having previously represented Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils.
The inaugural edition of the CPL will be played this year from July 29 to August 26 by six franchise countries: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago. Each team will select 15 players with a limit of four international players and at least four players under the age of 23.