Matches (18)
IPL (1)
ENG v NZ (1)
SLCD-XI in ENG (1)
Vitality Blast (8)
4-Day Championship (3)
BAN v SL (1)
SL-W in PAK (1)
CWC League 2 (1)
T20 Challenge (1)

Curtis named in New Zealand squad for UAE tour, Priest unfit

Legspinner Erin Bermingham also misses out as New Zealand women name 14-member squad for away series against Pakistan

Sam Curtis flicks on to the legside, New Zealand Women v Pakistan Women, 1st ODI, Lincoln, Nov 9, 2016

Sam Curtis flicks on to the legside  •  Getty Images

Right-hand batsman Sam Curtis has been named in the 14-member New Zealand women squad that will take on Pakistan in three ODIs and four T20Is in Sharjah from October 31. Wicketkeeper Rachel Priest and legspinner Erin Bermingham have missed selection due to fitness. The rest of the squad remains unchanged from New Zealand's World Cup campaign earlier this year.
New Zealand's coach, Haidee Tiffen, said Priest needed to improve her physical conditioning in order to perform consistently at the international level. Katey Martin will keep wicket in Priest's absence.
"We've been clear with Rachel about the areas we want to see her improve in. She's taken the feedback on board and is committed to putting the work in. We believe Rachel still has a lot to offer," Tiffen said. "[Martin] does the job for the Otago Sparks and has kept wicket for us in the past, but we're keen to see her behind the stumps for a full tour across different formats."
The three ODIs fall under the ICC Women's Championship to determine qualification for the 2021 World Cup, which is to be held in New Zealand. They will also mark the first time New Zealand face Pakistan away from home in a bilateral series.
"Pakistan will present a unique challenge in their own conditions and it's going to be a new and exciting experience for many in our squad," Tiffen said.
"This is the start of some important games as we look to prepare for next year's ICC World T20 in the Caribbean. The ODI series also signals the start of the ICC Women's Championship as we begin qualifying for the Women's Cricket World Cup in 2021."
The three ODIs will be played on October 31, November 2 and November 5. The four T20Is are scheduled for November 8, 9, 12 and 14.