Matches (17)
WPL (2)
PSL 2024 (2)
NZ v AUS (1)
Ranji Trophy (2)
WCL 2 (1)
Nepal Tri-Nation (1)
Sheffield Shield (3)
CWC Play-off (4)
BAN v SL (1)

South Zone complete hat-trick of titles with 105-run win

East Zone fought in patches, but the quality and depth of South Zone proved too good in the end

Mohammad Isam
Mohammad Isam
Farhad Reza hits over the top  •  Milton Ahmed

Farhad Reza hits over the top  •  Milton Ahmed

South Zone completed a hat-trick of BCL titles after beating East Zone by 105 runs in the final in Chittagong. The win came shortly after tea on the fourth day when they bowled out East Zone for 248 runs, with Shafiul Islam and Mahedi Hasan picking up three wickets each.
South Zone had dominated most of the game after posting 486 batting first. Farhad Reza struck his sixth first-class century after fifties from Fazle Mahmud, Anamul Haque and Shamsur Rahman.
East Zone were bowled out for 273 in their reply, with veteran left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak picking up 7 for 102, his 41st haul of five wickets or more. South Zone were then bowled out for 140 in their second innings, but despite the best efforts of Hasan Mahmud and Abu Hider who took four wickets each, the 354-run fourth innings target was too much against a formidable South Zone attack.
Only Mahmudul Hasan batted out more than two hours for his 81, otherwise they capitulated in 68.4 overs. South Zone have now won the tournament five times, underlining the region's strength in producing quality players as well as banking on a group of experienced cricketers.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84