At R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, September 4, 2005. Sri Lanka won by six wickets (D/L method). Toss: Sri Lanka.

With the series already won, Sri Lanka rested some of their senior players - Jayasuriya, Muralitharan and Vaas - and even named Atapattu, their captain, as the supersub. But he was not required (except for one appearance as a drinks waiter) as Bangladesh capitulated meekly, their confidence shattered by the two previous defeats. The openers began brightly, but then there was a spectacular collapse. Six wickets - three apiece to Fernando and Maharoof - tumbled for seven runs in 26 balls, leaving Bangladesh in disarray, and they subsided for just 108. A short rain delay meant Sri Lanka's target was revised to 106 from 46 overs, but Gunawardene walloped 52 from 61 balls and they cantered home with over half the overs to spare despite losing two early wickets to Tapash Baisya.

Man of the Match: C. R. D. Fernando.

Man of the Series: W. U. Tharanga.

Charlie Austin is Cricinfo's Sri Lankan correspondent