Matches (25)
IPL (3)
USA vs CAN (1)
SA v SL [W] (1)
WI 4-Day (4)
County DIV1 (5)
County DIV2 (4)
ACC Premier Cup (6)
Women's Tri-Series (1)
Stats Analysis

Stats - CSK stay perfect while chasing, reach record ninth IPL final

All the stats and records from a thrilling qualifier in Dubai

9 Chennai Super Kings have qualified for the IPL final for a record ninth time, making it in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019 and 2021. Mumbai Indians got there on six instances while no other team made it more than three times. This season will be MS Dhoni's tenth appearance in an IPL final - nine times as Super Kings captain and once as a player for Rising Pune Supergiant (in 2017).
13 Runs needed for Super Kings at the start of the 20th over. These are the most any team successfully chased in the last over of a playoff match in the IPL. The previous highest was 12 runs, also by Super Kings against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first qualifier of the 2011 edition.
15 Instances of Super Kings successfully chasing down ten or more runs in the final over in the IPL, by far the most for any team. The next highest is eight times each by Mumbai and Rajasthan Royals.
25 Instances of Dhoni remaining unbeaten in successful IPL chases, the joint-most by any player in the league. Ravindra Jadeja, the non-striker in the final over on Sunday, is tied on this list with Dhoni. The qualifier was the 44th instance of Dhoni unbeaten in a successful T20 chase, only behind Shoaib Malik (63), Kieron Pollard (58) and Dwayne Bravo (45).
6 out of 6 Super Kings' record while batting second this year. No team has ended an IPL season with a 100 win percentage while chasing so far. Mumbai Indians did not lose any of their seven chases in 2020 but one of them ended in a tie, which they eventually lost in the Super over.
4 Consecutive defeats for Super Kings in the IPL against Delhi Capitals before winning the qualifier. The Delhi franchise got the better of the team from Chennai twice in 2020 and completed a double during the league phase this year.
7 Player-of-the-Match awards won by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the IPL so far, all in only 21 matches. Gaikwad has won an award every three games at average, the best ratio among the players with at least 10 IPL matches. Michael Hussey is next on the list with 4.92 games per award as the former cricketer won 12 Player-of-the-Match awards in his 59 appearances.

Sampath Bandarupalli is a statistician at ESPNcricinfo