India A go down in last-over thriller

An unbeaten 35-run ninth-wicket stand between Veerasammy Permaul and Nikita Miller helped West Indies beat India A, in their first unofficial ODI

ESPNcricinfo staff
West Indies A 193 for 8 (Carter 39, Dinda 3-45) beat India A 190 (Rahane 58, Permaul 4-33) by two wickets
An unbeaten 35-run stand between West Indies A captain Veerasammy Permaul and Nikita Miller for the ninth wicket helped the hosts come from behind to beat India A by two wickets* in their first unofficial ODI played at St George's, Grenada.
Chasing 191, West Indies seemed to be out of the game when they slid to 158 for 8, but Permaul combined with Miller to steer the hosts to victory, with three balls to spare. Permaul had picked up four wickets earlier in the day and made sure he was Man of the Match by scoring a match-winning 22, including a four and a six.
Earlier, India A elected to bat and managed 190 in their 50-overs. Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane put on a 49-run opening stand but the Indians lost their way after their departure as Permaul swept through the middle order. Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary and Wriddhiman Saha all got starts before falling to Permaul.
After posting 190, India A's bowlers struck early by dismissing Test openers Adrian Barath for five and Kieran Powell, who followed at 42, after stroking 25 off 24 balls with three fours. Kirk Edwards then played aggressively, scoring 33 with two fours and a six to add 29 for the third wicket with Nkrumah Bonner.
After Edwards' departure with the score on 98, a 54-run, fifth-wicket stand between Jonathan Carter and Assad Fudadin kept the home side afloat. West Indies, though, lost four wickets for six runs, and were left needing Permaul and Miller 's heroics to clinch the victory.
Both sides will, now, meet for the second unofficial ODI on June 29.
*15.05 GMT, June 28: The article had incorrectly stated that India A were beaten by two runs. This has been changed.