At Melbourne, February 17, 2017 (floodlit). Sri Lanka won by five wickets. Toss: Sri Lanka.
Twenty20 international debuts: M. Klinger, B. Stanlake, A. J. Turner; J. R. M. V. S. Bandara. Sri Lanka's greater experience and composure won the night, though not until the last ball. After Australia were inserted, acting-captain Finch and Michael Klinger - comfortably the oldest of their three debutants - laid a sound foundation, but the innings never quite accelerated. In his first international appearance since February 2016, Malinga's slingy speed and slower balls were as difficult to hit as ever, while Prasanna's skiddy leg-breaks went at less than a run a ball. Still, Sri Lanka needed 169 to win, and lost Tharanga in the first over to a fierce Cummins awayswinger.

Dickwella and Munaweera took 24 off the fourth - bowled by 6ft 8in Queenslander Billy Stanlake, in his first match - and kept the chase within sight, before Gunaratne made Sri Lanka favourites, finding the gaps with panache en route to a 37-ball 52. Australia's other debutant, off-spinning allrounder Ashton Turner, took two wickets in three balls, but only six were needed from the last over. With the scores level, Kapugedera calmly drove Tye's final ball through cover.
Man of the Match: D. A. S. Gunaratne.