South Africa in Australia 2012-13 October 10, 2012

Kleinveldt included in South Africa's Test squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

South Africa have largely retained the Test squad that triumphed in England for the three-match series in Australia, which starts in November.

One of the few changes was bringing in Rory Kleinveldt, the Cape Cobras allrounder, for fast bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe as back-up to the first-choice seam attack. Another allrounder, Albie Morkel, has been left out, as has 21-year-old fast bowler Marchant de Lange.

Kleinveldt has played a couple of Twenty20s for South Africa, and was in line for an ODI debut against Sri Lanka earlier this year but missed out due to injury. He hit the headlines last March when he admitted to using marijuana.

"It is tough luck for Lopsy (Lonwabo Tsotsobe) to miss out but we just feel that Rory's ability to hit the deck hard will give us a valuable option, particularly at Brisbane and Perth," convenor of selectors Andrew Hudson said. "He also adds batting depth to the lower order. The fact that he finished second on last season's four-day bowling averages behind only Vernon Philander speaks for itself and he continued his form for the South Africa A side at home to Sri Lanka and away in Ireland."

Thami Tsolekile, another member of the A squad in the series against Sri Lanka, has also been picked. He is still waiting to add to the three Test caps he earned in 2004. He was reserve wicketkeeper on the England tour, but AB de Villiers donned the gloves in all three Tests.

De Villiers, however, has picked up a back injury and needs three weeks to recover, and given his importance to South Africa in all three formats, there could be a rethink on whether he will continue as Test keeper. "Thami Tsolekile will again be our back-up wicketkeeper and provide cover for AB in the event of injury or if the tour selectors decide to lighten his workload."

The squad will leave for Australia on October 27, except the players who are still involved in the Champions League T20.

Squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robbie Peterson, Vernon Philander, Jacques Rudolph, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile