December 17, 2000

Outcomes of the IWCC General Meeting

International Women's Cricket Council

The International Women's Cricket Council today elected the new Board of Management. The Board reflects the new structure adopted by the meeting. The Board is:

Christine Brierley, President (Australia)
Betty Timmer, Vice-President (Netherlands)
Sreerupa Bose Mukherjee, Board Member (India)
Lynne O'Meara, Board Member (Australia)
Mary Sharp, Board Member (Ireland)

Outgoing President Mary Brito said she was delighted at the interest shown in the election of the Board.

"It demonstrates to me the healthy progress made by women's cricket internationally and the desire for continuity with the three Board members previously on the old executive," she said.

The new President Christine Brierley paid tribute to Mary Brito and the Executive.

"They have undertaken a huge task since the last World Cup in India. The have achieved much with the support of New Zealand Cricket who funded The Management review and the appointment of the Executive Officer. These have been critical factors in securing the future of the IWCC."

The IWCC Board of Management has met to discuss a number of assignments on behalf of the IWCC Council.

These include working more closely with the ICC and adopting the ICC policy on illegal bowling, expanding the international calendar and developing the game for all member countries.

"I hope that when we meet as a Council in two years time that the IWCC will be able to report significant progress in increased competition, more support for regional coaching and above all a considerable injection of new funding," said Christine Brierley.

The next World Cup is to be held in South Africa in 2005 at Cape Town.