South Africa news July 21, 2010

Amla named CSA cricketer of the year

Cricinfo staff

Hashim Amla rounded off a remarkably consistent year with the bat by claiming top honours at the 2010 SA Cricket Awards on Tuesday evening. Amla has been in his element over the last twelve months, scoring 923 runs with four centuries at 65.92 in nine Tests against England, India and West Indies. His exploits earned him the two most coveted recognitions of the night - the South African cricketer of the year and the Test cricketer of the year awards.

In addition, Amla's consistency was recognized by his peers and the wider public as he was voted the SA players' player and the CSA fans' cricketer of the year. His match-winning knock of 253 not out against India in Nagpur won the "So Good!" award reserved for the best individual match performance.

"It's a great honour and privilege. A lot of great cricketers have been awarded this, and it's nice to be in their league. It's been a good year for me and the award is basically a recognition of that," Amla said.

AB de Villiers, who plundered four ODI centuries during the evaluation period, including three in successive innings, was named the ODI cricketer of the year. Fast bowler Charl Langeveldt picked up the international Pro20 award, while Ryan McLaren, who made his Test and ODI debuts during the evaluation period, won the newcomer of the year award.

The award winners for the domestic and professional categories were:

  • MTN40 cricketer of the year - Herschelle Gibbs
  • Standard Bank Pro20 cricketer of the year - Colin Ingram
  • SuperSport Series cricketer of the year - Rilee Rossouw
  • CSA fairplay award - Chevrolet Knights
  • MTN domestic newcomer of the year - Pumelela Matshikwe
  • SA Cricketers' Association MVP award - Colin Ingram
  • Domestic players' player of the year - Colin Ingram
  • CSA coach of the year - Russell Domingo
  • CSA groundsman of the Year - Louis Kruger
  • CSA scorers' association of the year - Gauteng
  • CSA umpire of the year - Marais Erasmus