Frizzell County Championship Division One at Hove, Sep 17-19 2003
(88.1 ov)
179 & 380
Sussex won by an innings and 55 runs
Leicestershire 1st Innings
JK Maunders c Lewry b Martin-Jenkins2142494050.00
DL Maddy c Cottey b Taylor551341608141.04
BJ Hodge  b Mushtaq Ahmed3664847056.25
JL Sadler st †Ambrose b Mushtaq Ahmed0920000.00
PA Nixon c †Ambrose b Taylor17130014.28
LJ Wright c Montgomerie b Mushtaq Ahmed084000.00
JN Snape c †Ambrose b Lewry1334522038.23
PAJ DeFreitas (c) b Martin-Jenkins2374743031.08
VC Drakes c †Ambrose b Martin-Jenkins833431024.24
GW Walker not out412190033.33
DD Masters  b Mushtaq Ahmed2430050.00
Extras(b 5, lb 6, nb 4, w 1)16
TOTAL(69.5 Ov, RR: 2.56)179
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (John Maunders), 2-111 (Brad Hodge), 3-117 (John Sadler), 4-117 (Darren Maddy), 5-118 (Luke Wright), 6-118 (Paul Nixon), 7-142 (Jeremy Snape), 8-167 (Phil DeFreitas), 9-174 (Vasbert Drakes), 10-179 (David Masters)
JD Lewry1543712.4600
BV Taylor1864022.2212
RSC Martin-Jenkins1262031.6600
Mushtaq Ahmed24.537142.8500
Sussex 1st Innings
RR Montgomerie c †Nixon b DeFreitas1091810111.11
MW Goodwin not out33539048952185.89
PA Cottey c †Nixon b DeFreitas561221545045.90
CJ Adams (c)c Drakes b Walker1021201809485.00
TR Ambrose c Sadler b Hodge8211913011168.90
Extras(b 12, lb 9, nb 8)29
TOTAL(126 Ov, RR: 4.87)614/4d
Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Richard Montgomerie), 2-151 (Tony Cottey), 3-418 (Chris Adams), 4-614 (Tim Ambrose)
PAJ DeFreitas2849423.3502
VC Drakes1926403.3600
DD Masters1808804.8801
DL Maddy402105.2500
LJ Wright1909505.0000
JN Snape1207206.0001
GW Walker1919214.8400
BJ Hodge605118.5000
JK Maunders1016016.0000
Leicestershire 2nd Innings
JK Maunders c Martin-Jenkins b Lewry1516143093.75
JN Snape c Adams b Taylor1980011.11
DD Masters c Martin-Jenkins b Taylor11918124221165.74
GW Walker c sub b Lewry2132443065.62
BJ Hodge c †Ambrose b Lewry1990011.11
JL Sadler  b Lewry14520226423271.78
DL Maddy lbw b Lewry2965673044.61
PA Nixon c Goodwin b Lewry01-000.00
LJ Wright not out1119252057.89
PAJ DeFreitas (c) b Lewry02-000.00
VC Drakes c †Ambrose b Lewry016000.00
Extras(b 8, lb 14, nb 16)38
TOTAL(88.1 Ov, RR: 4.31)380
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Jeremy Snape), 2-20 (John Maunders), 3-65 (George Walker), 4-69 (Brad Hodge), 5-277 (David Masters), 6-353 (Darren Maddy), 7-353 (Paul Nixon), 8-370 (John Sadler), 9-370 (Phil DeFreitas), 10-380 (Vasbert Drakes)
JD Lewry24.1310684.3800
BV Taylor21.268423.9308
RSC Martin-Jenkins9.406006.2000
MJG Davis2597503.0000
PA Cottey401503.7500
MW Goodwin301705.6600
CJ Adams10101.0000
County Ground, Hove
TossLeicestershire , elected to bat first
SeriesFrizzell County Championship Division One 2003
Series resultSussex won the 2003 Frizzell County Championship Division One
Match days17,18,19 September 2003 (4-day match)
First-class debut
Luke Wright
Mervyn Kitchen
Trevor Jesty
PointsSussex 22, Leicestershire 1
Wed, 17 Sep - day 1 - Sussex 1st innings 137/1 (MW Goodwin 71*, PA Cottey 47*, 34 ov)
Thu, 18 Sep - day 2 - Leicestershire 2nd innings 38/2 (DD Masters 14*, GW Walker 4*, 7 ov)
Fri, 19 Sep - day 3 - Leicestershire 2nd innings 380 (88.1 ov) - end of match
Day 3
  • DD Masters 100 in 221 mins off 164 balls, 18x4
  • JL Sadler 100 in 187 mins off 147 balls, 17x4
Day 2
  • MW Goodwin 100 in 238 mins off 181 balls, 17x4
  • MW Goodwin 200 in 316 mins off 256 balls, 34x4, 1x6
  • CJ Adams 100 in 170 mins off 106 balls, 9x4, 4x6
  • MW Goodwin 300 in 458 mins off 365 balls, 47x4, 1x6