Matches (9)
IND v AUS (1)
Asian Games (W) (2)
Malaysia Tri (1)
Championship (W) (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
BAN v NZ (1)
ENG v IRE (1)
Gulf T20I (1)
Cox's Bazar, March 07 - 10, 2016, Bangladesh Cricket League
(T:139) 392 & 139/6
(f/o) 173 & 357

East Z (BD) won by 4 wickets

Player Of The Match
154, 5/70 & 21

East Zone win thriller, but Central consolidate top spot

A round-up of the BCL games played from March 7, 2016, where Central Zone consolidated their position at the top of the table

File photo - Alok Kapali's contributions with bat and ball helped East Zone to a thrilling win  •  AFP

File photo - Alok Kapali's contributions with bat and ball helped East Zone to a thrilling win  •  AFP

East Zone beat North Zone by four wickets in a dramatic last session at the Sheikh Kamal Ground in Cox's Bazar. East Zone chased down 139 in 22.1 overs, after play was extended by 13 minutes after the mandatory last hour ended at 4.43pm.
They were in trouble at 37 for 4 in the eighth over, before Zakir Hasan made a counter-attacking 57 off 43 balls with six fours and three sixes. He was dismissed with 29 runs still required and East Zone also lost Alok Kapali towards the end but Mohammad Saifuddin struck the winning runs at the start of the 23rd over.
East Zone had made 392 runs in the first innings, on the back of Kapali's 291-ball 154, which included 19 fours and a six. Mominul Haque contributed with a brisk 92 while Rahatul Ferdous struck 62.
Saifuddin took five wickets and Kamrul Islam Rabbi claimed four as North Zone were bowled out for 173, and asked to follow on. Myshukur Rahaman responded with 131 and Farhad Hossain made 75 as North Zone reached 357 in their second innings. Kapali took 5 for 70, and was awarded the player-of-the-match award.
Central Zone consolidated their top position after a draw against South Zone in the adjacent ground in Cox's Bazar.
Batting first, Central Zone posted 425 runs with Raqibul Hasan following up his double-hundred from the previous game with 114 off 174 balls. Shuvagata Hom, Tanveer Haider and Sharifullah made 53, 84 and 60 respectively. Abdur Razzak took 5 for 138.
Farhad Reza and Taibur Rahman struck fifties for South Zone as they were bowled out for 312. Mohammad Sharif took three wickets. Shamsur Rahman, Marshall Ayub, Shuvagata and Sharifullah made fifties in Central Zone's second innings, before their innings was declared at 292 for 6. Razzak took another three wickets.
Tushar Imran was unbeaten on 54 as South Zone ended the game on 109 for 4, chasing 406 to win.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
East Z (BD) Innings
<1 / 3>
Bangladesh Cricket League