16th Match (N), Delhi, April 04, 2019, Indian Premier League
(18.3/20 ov, T:130) 131/5

Sunrisers won by 5 wickets (with 9 balls remaining)

Delhi Capitals INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Prithvi Shaw  b Kumar1111920100.00
Shikhar Dhawan c Sandeep Sharma b Mohammad Nabi1214251085.71
Shreyas Iyer (c) b Rashid Khan43417031104.87
Rishabh Pant c Hooda b Mohammad Nabi57170071.42
Rahul Tewatia c Mohammad Nabi b Sandeep Sharma5771071.42
Colin Ingram c Pandey b Kaul58130062.50
Chris Morris c Mohammad Nabi b Kumar17152411113.33
Axar Patel not out 23131612176.92
Kagiso Rabada c Kumar b Kaul3430075.00
Ishant Sharma not out 00200-
Extras(lb 3, w 2)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 6.45, 97 Mts)129/8
Did not bat: Sandeep Lamichhane 
Fall of wickets: 1-14 (Prithvi Shaw, 2.2 ov), 2-36 (Shikhar Dhawan, 5.6 ov), 3-52 (Rishabh Pant, 9.1 ov), 4-61 (Rahul Tewatia, 10.5 ov), 5-75 (Colin Ingram, 13.3 ov), 6-93 (Shreyas Iyer, 16.1 ov), 7-107 (Chris Morris, 18.2 ov), 8-115 (Kagiso Rabada, 19.2 ov)
Bhuvneshwar Kumar402726.75113010
2.2 to PP Shaw, through him! Tries to swipe across the line, and the ball crashes into off stump. Length ball angling in, and Shaw goes for a very ugly leg-side slog. Ball whizzes under his bat, and sends the youngster back. 14/1
18.2 to CH Morris, outfoxed him! Such a good defensive strategy from Bhuvneshwar and perfectly executed. A legcutter at a good length, just inside the wide marker. It's the ball Chahal uses too against big-hitters. Morris wants to pump it over extra cover but it's slow and it's off the toe-end of the bat. Nabi pedals a little to his left and holds on. 107/7
Mohammad Nabi402125.2571000
5.6 to S Dhawan, Dhawan falls off the last delivery of the Powerplay! Tossed up on off, turning away from Dhawan, and his attempted sweep has taken a top-edge. Easiest of catches for short fine leg as the Powerplay comes to an end. 36/2
9.1 to RR Pant, full outside off, and Pant tries to clear the boundary. Lifts this inside-out over the off side, but Pant hasn't generated enough power. In the air for ages, and Hooda at long-off times his jump perfectly. How often have we seen a wicket first ball after a break. Pant is not happy at all. 52/3
Siddarth Kaul403528.7591310
13.3 to CA Ingram, taken at point! Pandey lunges to his left and plucks a dying ball! Ingram is gone. Big wicket. Slower ball short of a length outside off. Looks to cut and once again can't control that shot. It's sliced and it's falling down on Pandey who leaps to his left and manages to get his fingers under this with both hands. 75/5
19.2 to K Rabada, taken at short third man. Offcutter outside off at a good length. Rabada gets on his knee for the slog sweep and gets a top edge. No fuss this time in the field, he's taken. 115/8
Rashid Khan401814.50132000
16.1 to SS Iyer, loses his cool! Just when he'd set up for a big end to a solid innings, Iyer swipes across the line to Rashid. It's not advisable. This comes in from a length outside off and is past the inside edge to hit off stump. 93/6
Sandeep Sharma402516.25102100
10.5 to R Tewatia, taken at cover! Nabi runs to his right and takes this. Superb bowling this. A knuckle ball, good length and just outside off. Hangs the bat out at it and is completely beaten in pace. Chips it harmlessly into the off side. 61/4
Sunrisers Hyderabad INNINGS (Target: 130 runs from 20 overs)
David Warner c Morris b Rabada1018360055.55
Jonny Bairstow lbw b Tewatia48282991171.42
Vijay Shankar c Iyer b Patel1621361076.19
Manish Pandey c Shaw b Sharma1013230076.92
Deepak Hooda c Rabada b Lamichhane1011111090.90
Yusuf Pathan not out 911181081.81
Mohammad Nabi not out 1791221188.88
Extras(b 4, lb 4, w 3)11
TOTAL18.3 Ov (RR: 7.08, 85 Mts)131/5
Fall of wickets: 1-64 (Jonny Bairstow, 6.5 ov), 2-68 (David Warner, 7.6 ov), 3-95 (Manish Pandey, 12.6 ov), 4-101 (Vijay Shankar, 14.3 ov), 5-111 (Deepak Hooda, 15.6 ov)
Sandeep Lamichhane403218.00103100
15.6 to DJ Hooda, taken at deep midwicket. Googly, slow and dipping outside off - that's the way to do it on this pitch! Gets the front leg down the track and looks to slog-sweep. Can't get anywhere near enough connection. Rabada runs in and holds on. 111/5
Axar Patel401814.50101010
14.3 to V Shankar, taken at extra cover! Welcome to the new DC universe, where easy chases don't exist. Short of a length and gripping in the pitch as he gets on the back foot for the cut. That's a single at sweeper on most pitches but here he's through the shot before the ball's arrived. It floats up and dips on Iyer who holds on low in front of his body. 101/4
Chris Morris302608.6675000
Kagiso Rabada3.303219.1474100
7.6 to DA Warner, straight to mid off! Warner's first failure this tournament. Full on middle, and Warner looks to check-drive straight. But it's found Morris. 68/2
Rahul Tewatia301013.33121010
6.5 to JM Bairstow, given! But Bairstow reviews. Yorker on leg, and the ball hits Bairstow's toe. Tewatia appeals, umpire raises his finger, but Bairstow is quick to review. Surely that's an inside-edge? Or so he feels. Replays suggest no edge but Bairstow looks certain he's hit the ball. Wry smile on his face as we wait for ball-tracking. And the ball is crashing into leg stump. Finally, Sunrisers lose their first wicket before the 100-run mark. 64/1
Ishant Sharma10515.0020010
12.6 to MK Pandey, straight to deep square! Decides to take him on and makes decent connection, but it wasn't well placed. Short of a length at middle and leg, stays a bit on the front foot and whips at this to hit it straight to that fielder. 95/3
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
TossSunrisers Hyderabad, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Jonny Bairstow
Hours of play (local time)20.00 start, First Session 20.00-21.30, Interval 21.30-21.50, Second Session 21.50- 23.20
Match days04 April 2019 - night (20-over match)
Chettithody Shamshuddin
KN Ananthapadmanabhan
TV Umpire
Sundaram Ravi
Reserve Umpire
Krishnaraj Srinath
Match Referee
Chinmay Sharma
PointsSunrisers Hyderabad 2, Delhi Capitals 0
  • Delhi Capitals innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 36 runs, 2 wickets)
  • Delhi Capitals: 50 runs in 8.3 overs (51 balls), Extras 1
  • Strategic Timeout: Delhi Capitals - 52/2 in 9.0 overs (SS Iyer 23, RR Pant 5)
  • Over 9.6: Review by Sunrisers Hyderabad (Bowling), Umpire - KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Batsman - R Tewatia (Struck down - Umpires Call)
  • Strategic Timeout: Delhi Capitals - 75/5 in 13.3 overs (SS Iyer 34)
  • Over 14.2: Review by Sunrisers Hyderabad (Bowling), Umpire - C Shamshuddin, Batsman - CH Morris (Struck down)
  • Delhi Capitals: 100 runs in 17.2 overs (104 balls), Extras 4
  • Innings Break: Delhi Capitals - 129/8 in 20.0 overs (AR Patel 23, I Sharma 0)
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 62 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Over 2.5: Review by Delhi Capitals (Bowling), Umpire - C Shamshuddin, Batsman - DA Warner (Struck down)
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: 50 runs in 5.2 overs (32 balls), Extras 9
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 32 balls (DA Warner 6, JM Bairstow 38, Ex 9)
  • Over 6.5: Review by Sunrisers Hyderabad (Batting), Umpire - C Shamshuddin, Batsman - JM Bairstow (Struck down)
  • Strategic Timeout: Sunrisers Hyderabad - 73/2 in 9.0 overs (V Shankar 4, MK Pandey 2)
  • Attendance: 24,687
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: 100 runs in 13.5 overs (83 balls), Extras 11
  • Strategic Timeout: Sunrisers Hyderabad - 111/5 in 16.0 overs (YK Pathan 6)
AskESPNcricinfo Logo

Instant answers to T20 questions

Sunrisers Innings
<1 / 3>
Indian Premier League