Leicestershire 500 (O'Brien 133, Taylor 63, Naik 59*, Wagg 4-107) and 179 for 8 dec (Smith 97, Wagg 4-65) drew with Glamorgan 359 (Rees 72, Rudolph 65, Wagg 57) and 250 for 7 (Rudolph 63, Walters 57*, Goodwin 50)

Glamorgan battled to a draw against Leicestershire at Grace Road after being seven wickets down with an hour remaining.

Having set the visitors a target of 321 for victory on the final day, Glamorgan looked in trouble at 204 for 7 but Stewart Walters (57 not out) and John Glover put on 46 to deny the home side.

Leicestershire resumed on 77 for 1 in their second innings, already 218 runs ahead, and that lead was extended to 320 when they declared on 179 for 8. Graham Wagg, who took four wickets in the first innings, was again the chief threat as he added another four wickets to his haul.

Dean Cosker chipped in with the other three but it was Will Owen who denied opener Greg Smith a century with a sharp run out. The bowler got a fingertip to Jigar Naik's shot and diverted it onto the stumps at the non-striker's end when Smith was on 97.

That prompted a declaration from Leicestershire and Glamorgan made the steady start they would have hoped for. Jacques Rudolph and Gareth Rees took the visitors to 49 without loss before the latter edged Charlie Shreck behind to Niall O'Brien.

William Bragg was then bowled by Rob Taylor for 7 but Rudolph and Murray Goodwin added another 60 runs before Rudolph was caught by Ben Braine off the bowling of Naik for 63. Goodwin also chalked up a half-century but his departure for 50 was swiftly followed by Jim Allenby for a duck as Leicestershire sensed the chance of a victory.

Naik then snared captain Mark Wallace as well and when Wagg fell, too, Glamorgan were seven down with more than 16 overs left. Leicestershire had up to seven men around the bat but Walters' unbeaten half-century and Glover, 19 not out, resisted the pressure impressively to guide Glamorgan to safety.