Matches (13)
ENG v NZ (1)
South Africa Women in England (1)
IND-W in SL (1)
WI v BDESH (1)
IRE v IND (1)
IND in ENG (1)
County DIV1 (4)
County DIV2 (3)
2nd Quarter-Final, The Oval, August 02, 2014, NatWest t20 Blast
(16.3/20 ov, T:142) 144/7

Surrey won by 3 wickets (with 21 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match
Jason Roy, SURR
52 (23)
Worcestershire INNINGS (20 overs maximum)
Daryl Mitchell (c)run out (Dunn)1012141083.33
Richard Oliver  b Peterson3436602094.44
Tom Kohler-Cadmore  b Peterson13131320100.00
Colin Munro  b Dunn5761071.42
Ross Whiteley  b Batty17111111154.54
Ben Cox  b Dunn53310166.66
Joe Leach  b Dernbach20151611133.33
Brett D'Oliveira not out 14102410140.00
Shaaiq Choudhry lbw b Dernbach44800100.00
Jack Shantry  b Azhar Mahmood86501133.33
Mitchell McClenaghan not out 33300100.00
Extras(lb 1, w 7)8
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.05)141/9
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Daryl Mitchell, 2.6 ov), 2-39 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore, 6.4 ov), 3-47 (Colin Munro, 8.3 ov), 4-78 (Ross Whiteley, 11.5 ov), 5-85 (Ben Cox, 12.4 ov), 6-97 (Richard Oliver, 14.6 ov), 7-115 (Joe Leach, 16.5 ov), 8-128 (Shaaiq Choudhry, 18.1 ov), 9-137 (Jack Shantry, 19.2 ov)
Tillakaratne Dilshan201306.5021000
Azhar Mahmood403218.0072120
19.2 to JD Shantry, around the wicket, angled in and rattles the stumps again! Shantry was aiming the kitchen sink over extra cover but had his pipework rearranged by a well-directed yorker. 137/9
Jade Dernbach402225.5091030
16.5 to J Leach, bowled, for the sixth time in the match! Dernbach's slower ball does it, 69mph and out the back of the hand, Leach thinks it is coming at him around waist height before it dipped on him, straight into the base of off stump and "pop" go the bails once again. 115/7
18.1 to SH Choudhry, full, straight, fantastic catch from Wilson... Gone! Not sure if this was given lbw or came off the edge but Rob Bailey has raised his finger. Choudhry tried to whip across the line, might have got outside off, in which case the lbw was unfortunate, super take from Wilson but don't think there was any bat involved. 128/8
Robin Peterson201226.0051010
6.4 to T Kohler-Cadmore, bowled him, the batsman drags on! Maybe a bit quicker from Peterson, quite wide and Kohler-Cadmore aimed a booming drive, deflected the ball on to his timbers. 39/2
14.6 to RK Oliver, quicker ball, clatters into the stumps and Oliver misses aiming a heave to the leg side! Surrey have been good at hitting the wicket today, second for Peterson, just a dart on middle and leg and it skidded on under the bat. 97/6
Gareth Batty403318.2563100
11.5 to RA Whiteley, revenge, bowled neck and crop! Whiteley advanced to slog over cow corner again, maybe pushed through a touch quicker, slipped between bat and pad and rattled the woodwork. Batty is pumped, effing and jeffing away to his team-mates. 78/4
Matt Dunn402827.00102110
8.3 to C Munro, bowled him, middle stump is flat on the ground and Munro is outtathere! Fast and straight, Munro aimed a little dab at it, missed and took his punishment, smack into the top of middle. 47/3
12.4 to OB Cox, beaten for pace and the stumps are destroyed again by Dunn! Brutal, another batsman ripped out, tentative shot from Cox and he lost middle and off, comprehensively uprooted. 85/5
Surrey INNINGS (Target: 142 runs from 20 overs)
Jason Roy c Mitchell b Shantry52232383226.08
Tillakaratne Dilshan c Choudhry b Shantry13100033.33
Kevin Pietersen c Kohler-Cadmore b Leach29273350107.40
Gary Wilson (c)†c Shantry b Leach1213151092.30
Rory Burns run out (D'Oliveira)22900100.00
Azhar Mahmood c Leach b McClenaghan911150181.81
Robin Peterson not out 24122231200.00
Zafar Ansari c †Cox b Munro2560040.00
Gareth Batty not out 2340066.66
Extras(b 2, lb 2, w 7)11
TOTAL16.3 Ov (RR: 8.72)144/7
Did not bat: Jade Dernbach, Matt Dunn 
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Tillakaratne Dilshan, 2.5 ov), 2-67 (Jason Roy, 5.4 ov), 3-89 (Gary Wilson, 9.5 ov), 4-104 (Kevin Pietersen, 11.1 ov), 5-106 (Rory Burns, 11.4 ov), 6-121 (Azhar Mahmood, 14.2 ov), 7-128 (Zafar Ansari, 15.3 ov)
Jack Shantry402626.50142200
2.5 to TM Dilshan, slower ball, Dilshan scoops... but it's all loop and no trousers, sailing gently to short fine leg running to his right! Dilshan fails to join Roy at the gun show, his trademark shot his undoing, Worcestershire have a much-needed breakthrough. 35/1
5.4 to JJ Roy, got him, mistimed to mid-on! Shantry rolled his fingers over it again, looked like he was going to get crumped down the ground again but couldn't clear the man. 67/2
Mitchell McClenaghan4044111.00106200
14.2 to Azhar Mahmood, around the wicket, dug in short and top-edged to fine leg! McClenaghan roars in delight, the ball was fast and cramped the batsman, couldn't control the shot and Worcestershire have another. 121/6
Joe Leach402225.50154010
9.5 to GC Wilson, banged in short, skids on again and Wilson miscues to midwicket! Big top edge from the Surrey captain, he couldn't get Leach away and has paid with his wicket. 89/3
11.1 to KP Pietersen, slightly short, pulled... straight to mid-on! Now KP gives it away, Surrey are four down and doing their best to make a Horlicks of things... Leach gets his second wicket, wasn't quite there for the shot and spliced to the fielder. 104/4
Shaaiq Choudhry2.3029011.6042110
Daryl Mitchell1011011.0012000
Colin Munro10818.0021010
15.3 to ZS Ansari, nippy bouncer from Munro, swishes at it, there's glove involved - Ansari is gone, caught by the keeper trotting to his right! Another one gone, they are chipping away. Smartly bowled by Munro, though not very well played. 128/7
Unlocking the magic of Statsguru
AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Kennington Oval, London
TossSurrey, elected to field first
Player Of The Match
Jason Roy
Series resultSurrey advanced
Hours of play (local time)14.30 start, First Session 14.30-15.55, Interval 15.55-16.15, Second Session 16.15-17.40
Match days2 August 2014 - day (20-over match)
Nick Cook
Rob Bailey
TV Umpire
Nigel Cowley
  • Worcestershire innings
  • 50 in 9.2 overs
  • 100 in 15.2 overs
  • Surrey innings
  • 50 in 4.2 overs
  • 100 in 10.2 overs
  • JJ Roy 50 off 20 balls, 8x4, 3x6
Surrey Innings
<1 / 3>
NatWest t20 Blast
North Division
South Division