Final, Brisbane, December 03, 2016, Women's National Cricket League
(24/50 ov, T:120) 123/1

NSW Women won by 9 wickets (with 156 balls remaining)

Player Of The Match

Farrell, Healy steer NSW to 18th National Cricket League title

New South Wales Women continued their dominance of the WNCL as they clinched their 18th title in the competition's 21-season history

New South Wales women 1 for 123 (Healy 56*, Blackwell 36*) beat Queensland women 119 (Barsby 30, Farrell 3-20, Smith 2-6)
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details
New South Wales women defeated Queensland women by nine wickets in the final of the Women's National Cricket League in Brisbane to put behind last year's runner-up finish and clinch their 18th title in 21 seasons of the tournament.
Queensland's decision to bat first backfired as NSW's bowlers, led by Rene Farrell, the right-arm pacer, hunted in a pack to bowl them out for 119 in 41.1 overs at the Allan Border Field. NSW then reached the target with 156 balls to spare courtesy wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy's unbeaten 56 and her unbroken second-wicket partnership of 78 with her captain Alex Blackwell (36*).
The tone for Queensland's collapse was set early with opener Beth Mooney's dismissal by Farrell off the first ball of the match. Farrell then removed Jess Jonassen, who had struck 21 of the 27 runs her team had made, before Farrell struck a third time in the ninth over to leave Queensland tottering at 40 for 4. Delissa Kimmince, the Queensland captain, then steadied the innings with a 53-run partnership for the fifth wicket with Jemma Barsby. Kimmince could not convert her start, though, with Maisy Gibson, the left-arm spinner, taking her out for 24. And with Barsby falling soon after, having top-scored with 30, Queensland slid to a paltry total.
Farrell finished with a tally of 3 for 20 in seven overs, and was named Player of the Match. Gibson and offspinner Lauren Smith were both miserly and took two wickets each.
NSW made a steady start to their chase with Healy and Rachael Haynes putting on 45 for the first wicket, before medium-pacer Grace Harris dismissed the latter for 18. Healy and Blackwell then combined to shut the doors on a Queensland fightback as they overhauled the target in 24 overs.

AskESPNcricinfo Logo
Instant answers to T20 questions
NSW Women Innings
<1 / 3>

Women's National Cricket League