Williamson wins big at New Zealand Cricket awards

Kane Williamson was named New Zealand's Player of the year and was awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for a second successive year, just three days after he had become the fastest New Zealander to 5000 Test runs and their joint-highest century-maker.

Williamson, who racked up 1079 Test runs at 59.94, including four hundreds, during the judging period, secured the Redpath Cup for first-class batting for a second successive year. He was also named T20 international player of the year.

Currently ranked second in the ICC Test rankings, Williamson had become the youngest and the quickest to make a century against all nine other Test countries, in August last year. In ODIs, Williamson scored 695 runs at 40.88 while in T20Is, he hit 158 runs at 52.66.

Fast bowler Neil Wagner, who played in 13 out of 14 Tests during the judging period for 56 wickets, was adjudged the Test player of the year, and also won the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling. During the home summer, Wagner became the second-fastest New Zealand bowler, after Richard Hadlee, to 100 Test wickets.

Opener Martin Guptill, was named ODI player of the year for his tally of 570 runs at 47.50, including an unbeaten 180 against South Africa in Hamilton. Guptill now has three scores of 180 or more - the most by any batsman.

Amy Satterthwaite, who equalled Kumar Sangakkara's record of four consecutive ODI centuries and finished with 935 runs at 103.88, was named Women's ODI player of the year. Her captain Suzie Bates was recognised as the Women's T20 player of the year.

The winners
Sir Richard Hadlee medal for player of the year: Kane Williamson
Test player of the year: Neil Wagner
Men's ODI player of the year: Martin Guptill
Men's T20I player of the year: Kane Williamson
Women's ODI player of the year: Amy Satterthwaite
Women's T20 player of the year: Suzie Bates
Winsor Cup (first-class bowling): Neil Wagner
Redpath Cup (first-class batting): Kane Williamson
T20 domestic player of the year: Glenn Phillips
Ruth Martin Cup (women's domestic batting): Katey Martin
Phyl Blackler Cup (women's domestic bowling): Leigh Kasperek
Bert Sutcliffe medal for outstanding service: Neil Sulzberger