Sri Lanka Cricket has named an all-new selection committee headed by former Sri Lanka fast bowler Ashantha De Mel, a move which comes just six months from the World Cup. Alongside De Mel, the committee comprises three other former national players in Brendon Kuruppu, Hemantha Wickramaratne and Chaminda Mendis.

De Mel replaces Graeme Labrooy, who had been in the role since September 2017, to reprise a role he last held in 2012. Wickramaratne was also a part of that 2012 committee, while this is Mendis' first time as a selector. Kuruppu, meanwhile, was part of the selection committee that was sacked by Thilanga Sumathipala's administration in 2016.

The decision to appoint a new selection committee was taken on the recommendations of the recently appointed Cricket Advisory Committee, an SLC release stated. The committee's first order of business will be selecting the squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand.

De Mel has played 17 Tests and 57 ODIs for Sri Lanka, picking up 59 wickets apiece in each format. He also led Sri Lanka's pace attack as they gained Test status, and was the first Sri Lanka fast bowler to take a five-wicket haul.