Matches (16)
T20 World Cup (6)
CE Cup (2)
T20 Blast (8)
Beyond the Test World

A new winner in the Spanish League

By John Howden

Nishi Narayanan
By John Howden
A new name will appear on Spanish cricket's winners trophy after Barcelona meets Valencia Green in the national league final today (Saturday). Click here for the Cricket Spain website.
Last year's winners Sporting Alfas CC were knocked out in the semi-final stages by league newcomers Valencia Green in a tight game earlier this month. The other game was a one-sided affair, which saw Northern league winners Barcelona Madrid side, missing several key players, by 226 runs.
Both Barcelona and Valencia Green had won the Northern and Southern league sections respectively during the group stages and the final on paper looks to be a close affair.
Barcelona CC will be looking to its captain Muharram Ali to deliver with the bat and he will be expected to open the innings for the Catalan side when batting. A lot is also be expected from Spain opening quick bowler Tanveer Iqbal.
From Valencia's perspective, the left-arm spin and guile of Spanish international Gulzar Ahmed will be an important factor if Green are to topple Spain's Twenty20 champions. They will also seek telling contributions from their talented allrounder and captain Asad Awan.
The final will take place at the prestigious La Manga club in Spain, which is the current home of the ECC's Centre of Excellence.

Nishi Narayanan is a staff writer at ESPNcricinfo