The Australian Cricket Board (ACB) will send a nine-man training squad to India tomorrow, Wednesday 4 April, to gain valuable experience in the challenging conditions of the Sub-Continent.
Throughout the eight-day tour, the training squad will undertake net sessions with former Indian spin greats Bishen Bedi and Erapalli Prasanna as well as play practice matches against emerging squads from the MRF Pace Foundation in Chennai.
The national selectors have approved the following players to take part in the short tour:
  • Anthony Clark (NSW)
  • Sean Clingeleffer (TAS)
  • Steven Coombes (NSW)
  • Simon Dart (VIC)
  • Xavier Doherty (TAS)
  • Mark Higgs (NSW)
  • Brad Hodge (VIC)
  • Scott O'Leary (QLD)
  • Shane Watson (TAS)
ACB Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy Coach Wayne Phillips who will lead the touring party, said the trip has been designed to subject young Australian players to the difficulties of playing Sub-Continent cricket.
"The tour is a chance to educate players about foreign playing conditions that have caused Australian teams difficulty in the past," Phillips said.
"Even if these players never tour India again, the experience has been designed to help them develop as cricketers and young men."
This is the third squad the ACB has sent to India for training purposes as part of the memorandum of understanding between the Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy and the MRF Pace Foundation. The agreement has seen players from the MRF Pace Foundation tour Australia in exchange.
Players to have taken part in recent training tours to India include Matthew Hayden, Australia's leading batsman throughout the recent Test series in India, New South Wales wicket-keeper Brad Haddin, West Australian Simon Katich, and Victorian opener Matthew Elliott.