ICC Under-19 World Cup

Australian squad for 2006 ICC Under-19 World Cup announced

Cricket Australia has announced the 14-man squad to travel to Sri Lanka for the 2006 ICC Under-19 World Cup, played from 5 - 19 February 2006

Media Release
Cricket Australia has announced the 14-man squad to travel to Sri Lanka for the 2006 ICC Under-19 World Cup, played from 5 - 19 February 2006.
Moises Henriques (capt, NSW), Aaron Finch (vc, Vic), Jackson Bird (NSW), Tom Cooper (NSW), Ben Cutting (Qld), Jon Holland (Vic), Simon Keen (NSW), Usman Khawaja (NSW), Jack McNamara (Vic), Adam Ritchard (ACT), William Sheridan (ACT), Tom Stray (Vic), Matthew Wade (wk, Tas), David Warner (NSW).
Reserves Ben Dunk (Qld), Phillip Wells (NSW).
Team management Brian McFadyen (coach), Matthew Mott (assistant coach), Geoff Tamblyn (manager), Max Pfitzner (physiotherapist).
The squad, announced at the Commonwealth Bank Under-19 Championship dinner in Perth last night, will be captained by New South Wales rookie-contracted player Moises Henriques, also the only player in the squad who was a part of the 2004 Under-19 World Cup squad.
Trevor Hohns, Chairman of the National Selection Panel, said selecting the 14-man squad was an extremely challenging task.
"There were a number of outstanding individual performances at the Commonwealth Bank Under-19 Championships in Perth and many players showed they are capable of representing Australia at this level. Selecting 14 was an extremely difficult assignment," said Mr Hohns.
"The selection panel have chosen what they believe to be a very flexible and well-balanced squad which will be important given the conditions they will be facing in Sri Lanka next February.
"As is always the case there were some players that are unlucky to have missed selection; however we believe this is the best team available to represent Australia at the tournament in Sri Lanka.
"Those who have missed out need to remember this is certainly not the end of the road, we see a bright future for many of the players at the championships. The quality of talent from all states was very, very good.
"The squad is now looking forward to coming together and repeating the success of 2002 and bringing the under-19 World Cup back to Australia.
The players will be presented with their playing caps today by former Australian captain Mark Taylor on the WACA Ground during the tea interval in the first 3 mobile Test match between Australia and South Africa.
The 2005 Commonwealth Bank Under-19 Championships saw New South Wales collect its third consecutive title bringing to 13 the total number won by the state. It was a final round victory over Victoria which saw the Blues again claim the title.
New South Wales batsman Usman Khawaja was the player of the championship and the leading run scorer making 396 runs in seven innings at an average of 66.00 with a highest score of 100 against South Australia in round six.
The leading wicket-taker for the championship was Victorian left-arm orthodox spinner Jon Holland. Holland took 20 wickets at an average of 11.75 with a best performance of 7-37 against South Australia in round five.
Leading wicket-keeper was New South Wales' Marcus Hainsworth with 20 catches and two stumpings.
Final standings for the tournament were:
New South Wales 1, Victoria 2, Western Australia 3, ACT 4, South Australia 5, Tasmania 6, Queensland 7, Northern Territory 8.