Matches (14)
West Indies v India T20I Series (1)
CWG 2022 (2)
Men's Hundred (1)
BDESH-A in WI (1)
RL Cup (8)

Vitori returns to Zimbabwe squad for Afghanistan series

Ryan Burl also returns for Zimbabwe's limited-overs series against Afghanistan

Brian Vitori is about to send down a delivery, Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka, tri-series final, Bulawayo, November 27, 2016

Brian Vitori is about to send down a delivery  •  AFP

Left-arm seamer Brian Vitori has joined Zimbabwe's squad for their limited-overs series against Afghanistan, a fortnight after he was cleared to bowl in international cricket again. Vitori had been suspended from bowling for 12 months in December 2016 after his action was deemed illegal twice inside a period of two years. He had taken a three-wicket haul for Zimbabwe A, against Kenya, last week.
"I am very pleased as the captain to have someone of Brian's ability in my side," Zimbabwe's Graeme Cremer said. "He is a true competitor. He brings great strength and versatility to our seam bowling attack, and we look forward to seeing him on the park again."
Apart from Vitori, Zimbabwe have also called up batsman Ryan Burl - who last played limited-overs cricket in July 2017 - while the trio of Christopher Mpofu, Ryan Murray and Brandon Mavuta, who were part of the squad in Bangladesh, have been left out. The series is set to begin from Monday, with two T20Is and five ODIs scheduled. The tour will be a critical test for Zimbabwe as they step up their preparations for the World Cup Qualifier event which they will host in March.
"We could not have asked for better preparations for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier than this series, coming hard on the heels of the Bangladesh tour. Facing Afghanistan, who are in the same group as us in the qualifiers, makes it even better and we are looking to do well against them and then hopefully carry that momentum into the tournament on home soil," Cremer said.
Zimbabwe squad: 1 Hamilton Masakadza, 2 Solomon Mire, 3 Craig Ervine, 4 Brendan Taylor, 5 Sikandar Raza, 6 Peter Moor, 7 Malcolm Waller, 8 Graeme Cremer (capt) , 9 Brian Vitori, 10 Tendai Chisoro, 11 Blessing Muzarabani, 12 Ryan Burl, 13 Tendai Chatara, 14 Kyle Jarvis