Zubin Surkari has been handed a two-game suspension and fined by the Canadian Cricket Association for conduct and behaviour-related charges.

While no specifics have been given by the board, Surkari, who was named as Canada's captain in June, is believed to have been reprimanded after comments that he was not being given any say in the way the team operated.

It is reported locally that he clashed with board officials and that his comments were considered to be unbecoming of the captain.

As a result, Surkari will miss the T20 Canada 2008 tournament, and the side will be led by Sunil Dhaniram.

Canada squad Sunil Dhaniram (capt), Umar Bhatti, Harvir Bhadwan, Rizwan Cheema, Manoj David, Abzal Dean, Mohammed Iqbal, Karun Jethi, Eion Katchay, Ashif Mulla, Henry Osinde, Balaji Rao, Abdool Samad.