Nominations are coming in for this annual Award, which has been presented since 1950. The previous 51 winners (joint winners in 1986) have amassed 1695 Test caps to the end of Second Test v West Indies 2000, with only seven not playing any Test cricket.

Voting, restricted to Full Members of the Cricket Writers' Club, must be completed by 15 August and so far this year six nominations have been received:-

  • Chris Schofield (Lancashire CCC)
  • Chris Read (Nottinghamshire CCC)
  • Paul Franks (Nottinghamshire CCC)
  • David Sales (Northamptonshire CCC)
  • Ryan Sidebottom (Yorkshire CCC)
  • Carl Greenidge (Surrey CCC)
  • The silver trophy, currently in the keeping of Surrey CCC, following Alex Tudor's win last year, will be presented at the Annual Dinner on Friday, 25th August at the Royal Lancaster Hotel.