All-time Australia World Cup XI

Daniel Brettig, an ESPNcricinfo assistant editor, picks his all-time Australia World Cup XI

Australia's quintet of World Cup triumphs offers up all sorts of considerations for an all-time XI. A few of the players unfortunate to be missing include the likes of Dean Jones, Matthew Hayden, Mike Hussey, Damien Fleming, Damien Martyn and Brett Lee. But those to have made the cut all played critical roles in at least one successful campaign.
David Boon and Craig McDermott in 1987. Steve Waugh was vital to the 1987, 1996 and 1999 campaigns, and Mark Waugh to the latter two. Likewise Shane Warne, who missed 2003 through a drugs ban; Glenn McGrath, the spearhead for 1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007; Ricky Ponting, a batsman and captain of class and quality in that period; Michael Bevan's consummate finishing between 1996 and 2003; Adam Gilchrist's top-order explosiveness and sure-footed glovework from 1999 to 2007; Andrew Symonds in 2003 and 2007; and Mitchell Starc, the destroyer at home in 2015.
This is a team that bats deep, is chock full of excellent fielders, includes four batsmen who bowl, and is spoiled for leadership choice - the choice of Ponting's vice-captain alone would take some serious thinking.
Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. Vote for your Australia all-time World Cup XI here

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig