Dilhara Fernando finds his way back into national colours © AFP

Sri Lanka have strengthened their pace attack for the ODI series against England by calling up Dilhara Fernando and Ruchira Perera into a 14-man squad. The five-match series begins at Lord's on June 17. The two replace Nuwan Zoysa and Nuwan Kulasekera in the squad.

Perera, who did well during the series against Australia and South Africa earlier in the year, returns after being sidelined with a hamstring injury. He was reported for an illegal action during the 2002 tour to England. Fernando is back after being given time to work on a no-balling problem that has plagued him, most recently in the Test series against Pakistan in April. He will add some pace to the attack, given his status as arguably the fastest bowler in the country.

He also has a good one-day record against England, having taken 15 wickets in six games at a cost of only 19 runs each.

Russel Arnold, now considered a one-day specialist, has also been drafted into the squad. Thilan Samaraweera, Jehan Mubarak and Michael Vandort all return home after the Test series which ended 1-1.

England have delayed announcing their squad until later this week because of Andrew Flintoff's injured ankle.

Squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedera, Russel Arnold, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Ruchira Perera, Malinga Bandara.