Ben Hilfenhaus bowled impressively in Tasmania's Pura Cup final victory, as he had done all season © Getty Images

Ben Hilfenhaus has capped off a remarkable season with the Ricky Ponting Medal as Tasmania's Player of the Year. Hilfenhaus was the big winner at the state's awards night on Friday, after topping the Pura Cup wicket tally with 60 dismissals from 11 games.

He also made his Twenty20 and one-day international debuts for Australia in January. Two months later, Hilfenhaus was instrumental in Tasmania winning their first Pura Cup title, taking seven wickets in the final.

Michael Di Venuto, who made 961 first-class runs in 2006-07 - his best effort in 16 seasons with the state - was given the David Boon Medal as the Pura Cup Player of the Year. The Jack Simmons Medal for the state's best one-day player was awarded to Xavier Doherty, who took 11 wickets in his nine Ford Ranger Cup matches.

Matthew Wade, who made his limited-overs debut for the Tigers in February, was named Young Player of the Year for the second consecutive time. Luke Butterworth, who arrived with a bang in his maiden season of first-class cricket, received the Scott Mason Memorial Captain's Award. Butterworth took 23 wickets in his five games and was the Man of the Match in the final, when he made his first century for Tasmania.