At Jaipur, November 2, 2006 (day/night). West Indies won by six wickets. Toss: South Africa. Gayle made a good bowling attack and a decent target appear inadequate as he hammered his third century of the tournament, launching the holders West Indies into the final again. Graeme Smith won the toss, and Gibbs's timely return to form - in the course of which he shared an important 92-run partnership with de Villiers - propelled his side to 258. With bowling usually being South Africa's strength there was every reason to believe this was a defendable total, but that belief went out of the window as Gayle took apart first Pollock and later the pacier pair of Ntini and Nel. Without a quality spinner, Smith could not rein in the runs, and the opening pair were only separated when Chanderpaul retired with cramp after they had put on 154 in 26 overs. Gayle batted on regardless, hitting 17 fours and three sixes in an unbeaten 133 that took West Indies to victory, despite the customary wobble towards the end.

Man of the Match: C. H. Gayle.

Anand Vasu is associate editor of Cricinfo