Stats Analysis

India's first innings win in Sri Lanka

A week after recording their biggest win over Sri Lanka in terms of runs, India achieved another high in Colombo

Bharath Seervi
ESPNcricinfo Ltd

ESPNcricinfo Ltd

8 - Number of consecutive Test series wins for India. This run, incidentally, started in Sri Lanka in 2015. Only Australia from 2005 to 2008, have won more series (nine) in succession. England also had a run of eight successive series wins between 1884 and 1892.
1 - This is India's first innings win in Sri Lanka. The Galle Test was India's biggest win in terms of runs over Sri Lanka. This is India's third innings win in nine Tests, their eighth win in Sri Lanka and fourth in a row.
2000 - The year Sri Lanka last lost a home Test by an innings (against Pakistan in Galle) prior to the SSC Test. Overall, this is their seventh innings defeat at home.
3 - Instances of two players from the same side scoring a half-century and taking a five-for in the same Test. R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja achieve this feat at the SSC. The other two instances are: Australia's George Giffen and Albert Trott against England at the Adelaide in 1895 and England's Tim Bresnan and Stuart Broad against India at Trent Bridge in 2011.
386 - Sri Lanka's second-innings score at SSC, their fourth-highest when following on. Two of their top-three totals while following-on have come in recent three years: 475 against England in Chester-le-Street in 2016 and 407 against New Zealand in Christchurch in 2014.
141 - Dimuth Karunaratne's second-innings score, the third-highest for Sri Lanka when following-on. Karunaratne's 152 against New Zealand in Christchurch in December 2014 is the highest. Asanka Gurusinha had scored 143 in the Boxing Day Test of 1995.
4 - Centuries for Karunatne in the third innings of Tests in last three years, the most by any batsman. No other batsman has scored more than two centuries in the third innings in this period. For Sri Lanka, Kusal Mendis and Dinesh Chandimal have made two such centuries in last three years.
2009 - The last time two batsmen made centuries for a side following on, in the same innings, before Mendis and Karunaratne achieved it at SSC. Gautam Gambhir and VVS Laxman made hundreds against New Zealand in Napier. Overall, this is the 14th instance for any team and first time for Sri Lanka.
4 - Man of the Match awards for Jadeja in Tests in the last one year, the most by any player. Virat Kohli is next with three such awards. Eight others have two awards each.

Bharath Seervi is stats sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @SeerviBharath