Match reports


At Brabourne Stadium, Bombay, November 29

At Brabourne Stadium, Bombay, November 29. India won by six wickets. Toss: India.
Victory secured the tournament for India and preserved Azharuddin's record of never having lost a series, Test or a limited-overs, on home ground since he took up the captaincy in 1990. It was the ninth one-day competition he had won in India, with one draw against England. The New Zealanders found themselves in desperate straits on a pitch which allowed the ball to seam around in the morning. They had lost Crowe and Cairns to injuries and, after the early blows struck by Srinath, the middle order could not handle the crisis; spinners Kumble and Kapoor teased them into surrender. While Prabhakar anchored the Indian reply, Kambli's assault on Doull helped him to 48 in 34 balls and hastened the end. The match, watched by 35,000, was designated a benefit for former Test wicket-keeper Syed Kirmani.
Man of the Match: J. Srinath. Man of the Series: M. Prabhakar.