Shakib Al Hasan will retain the Bangladesh captaincy for the five-match ODI series against Zimbabwe at home with Mashrafe Mortaza failing to prove his fitness following knee surgery. The Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a 14-member squad for the first three ODIs starting October 27 and the most notable inclusion is that of the left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak, who missed the recent tour of Zimbabwe after pulling a hamstring.

Mortaza underwent arthroscopic surgery on both knees in Melbourne after injuring his right knee during the tour of West Indies in July. He was confident of returning after six-weeks' rehabilitation but chief selector Rafiqul Alam said that Mortaza would not be able to resume bowling until the second week of November. The ODI series ends on November 5.

"He (Mortaza) is definitely not playing against Zimbabwe," Alam told reporters.

The selectors left out four players who toured Zimbabwe for five ODIs in August - opener Imrul Kayes, allrounder Mehrab Hossain Jnr and seamers Syed Rasel and Mahbubul Alam. Returning to the squad is fast bowler Rubel Hossain, who left the Zimbabwe tour midway after suffering a side strain. His replacement, Dolar Mahmud, retains his place.

Bangladesh comprehensively beat Zimbabwe 4-1 in the ODIs in August and before that, swept the ODIs 3-0 against an understrength West Indies.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Enamul Haque Jr, Rubel Hossain, Dolar Mahmud, Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Nazmul Hossain