Hope, Ottley partnership secures T&T win

A round-up of all the Nagico Super50 matches played on January 9, 2016

Kyle Hope and Kjorn Ottley shared an unbeaten 162-run partnership, Trinidad & Tobago v Barbados, Nagico Super50 2016, Port-of-Spain, January 9, 2016

WICB Media/Ashley Allen

Defending champions Trinidad & Tobago made it two from two to start the 2016 Nagico Super50 with a nine-wicket trouncing of Barbados at Port of Spain on Saturday. Kyle Hope and Kjorn Ottley each finished unbeaten with 70 and 80 respectively in a 162-run second-wicket stand to blow past a Barbados first innings total of 161 with 14.1 overs to spare.
Barbados found themselves in trouble inside the power play after choosing to bat when openers Dwayne Smith and Kevin Stoute were dismissed for single figures. Roston Chase top-scored with 50 at No. 5 for Barbados but the next best contribution came from Justin Greaves who made 31 before being the ninth wicket to fall, the second to Rayad Emrit. Jon-Russ Jagessar wrapped up the innings in the final over by claiming Ashley Nurse for 21 and finished with figures of 3 for 24 to set up a brisk chase by Hope and Ottley.
Jamaica registered their first win of the competition with a 184-run demolition of ICC Americas in St Augustine. Batting first, Jamaica were 27 for 2 in the eighth over before Andre McCarthy wrested momentum for Jamaica with 118 off 119 balls in their total of 260 for 8.
McCarthy dominated a 105-run fourth-wicket stand with Tamar Lambert, who chipped in with 28. Jeremy Gordon took 3 for 32 and Ali Khan claimed 2 for 63 on List A debut but the spin combo of Danial Ahmed and Timil Patel went wicketless.
In contrast, legspinner Damion Jacobs ran through the ICC Americas middle order to claim a career-best 5 for 22 as the Associate squad was bowled out for 76 in just 26.4 overs. Opener Steven Taylor made 12 and Nitish Kumar made 42 at No. 3 but no one else reached double digits in the chase.
In Group B, Guyana notched a 72-run win over Leeward Islands in Basseterre. Shivnarine Chanderpaul was named Man of the Match for scoring 81 in a total of 219 for 9 after Guyana was sent in at the toss. Wickets fell at regular intervals throughout the innings though a 54-run fifth-wicket stand between Chanderpaul and wicketkeeper Anthony Bramble helped to set a platform before Veerasammy Permaul's 30 off 14 at No. 10 took Guyana past 200.
In reply, Leewards could only muster three double-figure scores from their batsmen with a best of 35 from Orlando Peters. Permaul followed up his damage with the bat by claiming 3 for 32 in nine overs of left-arm spin, including the key wicket of Peters, as Leewards were bowled out for 147.
Combined Campuses and Colleges once again received two points after a second consecutive no result, this time against Windward Islands. CCC made 233 for 6 in 40 overs in a rain-affected first innings after electing to bat. Captain Chadwick Walton made an unbeaten 86 off 87 balls to anchor the innings, including a 73-run stand with Ryan Hinds (39) and a 63-run partnership with Rovman Powell (36).
Windwards were set a Duckworth-Lewis adjusted target of 239 in 40 overs, but the chase was halted after just 7.4 overs with the score 40 for 3. Christopher Powell claimed both openers in his new-ball spell to finish with 2 for 18.