Toss: New Zealand.

In 13 previous limited-overs encounters with West Indies, New Zealand had won only once; but they hardly surprised themselves when they inflicted the third defeat of the tournament on Richardson's men. The now-familiar ploy of opening with off-spin continued to be rewarded, with Patel conceding only seven runs in his first five overs. Haynes and Lara survived to put on 65 in 19 overs, but West Indies would not have reached 200 without Arthurton and Williams.

The game was to be dominated by two New Zealand batsmen, however. First Greatbatch launched a ferocious assault on the West Indian bowlers, deprived of their bouncers. He hit Ambrose, Marshall and Cummins for sixes, and also struck seven fours. In an opening stand of 67 in 12 overs, Latham scored only 14. When Greatbatch gave Haynes a steepling catch with the score at 100, New Zealand faltered briefly; but Crowe restored their ascendancy, with a stylish 81 in as many balls. His 12th boundary won the match, and took him to 263 runs in the competition for only one dismissal. He collected his third award in five matches, and that was no surprise either.

Man of the Match: M. D. Crowe. Attendance: 24,281.