At Benoni, April 15. Sri Lanka won by 115 runs. Toss: Pakistan.

Sri Lanka's revival continued as Pakistan's batting let them down again. They had no hope of reaching 289 once the strike bowlers reduced them to 44 for four. Though Saeed Anwar held firm to score 59, he became one of five victims for Muralitharan, and Pakistan were bowled out in the 40th over. Sri Lanka had wobbled slightly at 94 for three, but Atapattu and Ranatunga assumed control in a stand of 138. Ranatunga scored 78 from 72 balls before being bowled by Wasim Akram, who added Wickremasinghe next ball. Mahanama averted the hat-trick.

Man of the Match: M. S. Atapattu. Attendance: 5,122.