Matches (18)
IND v ENG (1)
PSL 2024 (2)
WCL 2 (1)
Ranji Trophy (4)
NZ v AUS (1)
Marsh Cup (1)
CWC Play-off (3)
WPL (1)
WI 4-Day (4)

Haryana, Andhra cruise into semi-finals

A round-up of the third day's play from the sixth round of matches in the Ranji Trophy Plate League

Cricinfo staff
Haryana 382 (Sunny Singh 140, Dewan 56) beat Kerala 93 (Rana 4-27) and 205 (Budhwar 5-69) by innings and 85 runs
Kerala more than doubled their first-innings total the second time around but it still wasn't enough to prevent an innings defeat against Haryana inside three days. They began the third day on 35 for 3, trailing by 254 runs in the follow-on, and the middle-order batsmen got off to starts, unlike in the first innings which collapsed for 93. However, none of them got to fifty and Sanjay Budhwar had three batsmen caught behind on the way to a five-wicket haul. Budhwar finished with 5 for 69 while Amit Mishra took 3 for 71. Kerala were dismissed for 205, giving Haryana victory by an innings and 85 runs. The result ensured Harayana finished top of Group B and qualified for the semi-finals of the Plate League.
Andhra 318 (Shankara Rao 66, Sahabuddin 52, Sameer Ali 4-74) and 22 for 0 beat Jammu and Kashmir 147 (ID Singh 64) and 192 (Abid Nabi 54, Sahabuddin 4-55) by 10 wickets
Andhra also cruised into the semi-finals of the Plate League from Group B after crushing Jammu and Kashmir by ten wickets at Anantapur. Syed Sahabuddin took 4 for 55 while DP Vijaykumar and D Shivkumar claimed three each to help dismiss Jammu and Kashmir for 192 during the follow on. Abid Nabi, who resisted for 116 deliveries at No. 9, was the innings' top-scorer with 54. Andhra were left a target of only 22, which the openers knocked off in 2.3 overs.
Tripura 150 for 4 (Saha 51) trail Goa 201 (Mota 3-66, Chanda 3-38) by 51 runs
Fog and bad light curtailed the third day's play to 34 overs in Agartala and during that time Goa reduced Tripura to 150 for 4 from their overnight total of 44 for no loss. Rajib Saha, who made 51, and Wilkin Mota added 73 for the first wicket before Robin d'Souza trapped Mota lbw. Saha and Abhijit Dey added another 60 for the second wicket before Amit Yadav struck three quick blows to jolt the middle order. Yadav ended the day on 17 for 3.
Vidarbha 180 for 6 (Paradkar 58*, Konwar 5-59) trail Assam 392 for 8 dec (Jadhav 111, Tarjinder Singh 117, Sinha 51) by 212 runs
Arlen Konwar took 5 for 59 to give Assam a terrific chance of securing a large first-innings lead against Vidarbha in Guwahati. Assam declared on their overnight score of 392 for 8 and Konwar made good use of the early morning conditions. Abu Nechim provided the first breakthrough, dismissing Amol Ubarhande for 16, but it was Konwar who took the other five wickets. Vidarbha were struggling at 71 for 4 at one stage, but were lifted by Ranjit Paradkar who scored an unbeaten half-century. Amit Paunikar made 43 but Vidarbha were reduced to 180 for 6 at stumps.
Rajasthan 246 (Pranay Sharma 64, Gupta 77, Nadeem 6-74) and 197 for 2 (Doru 94*, Saxena 79*) lead Jharkhand 368 for 9 dec (Vardhan 108, Tiwary 103)by 75 runs
A strong performance from Rajasthan in the second innings helped them wipe out a first-innings deficit against Jharkhand and take a lead on the third day in Dhanbad. However, with only one day remaining, the most likely result is a draw. Jharkhand declared on 368 for 9 in their first innings, after centuries from Manish Vardhan and Saurabh Tiwary had taken them to a position of strength on the second evening. Rajasthan were facing a deficit of 122 when they began their second innings and they lost both openers after scoring only 17 runs. Vineet Saxena and Nitin Doru, however, added an unbroken 180-run stand for the third wicket to keep Jharkhand's bowlers at bay.