Matches (15)
ENG v PAK (1)
ENG v PAK (W) (1)
T20WC Warm-up (6)
Vitality Blast (5)
CE Cup (2)

Jakati leads Goa to huge win

Round-up of the fourth day of the third round of the Ranji Trophy Plate League

Group A

Left-arm spinner Shadab Jakati was the wrecker-in-chief as Goa beat Jharkhand by an innings and 127 runs in Porvorim. Jakati made the initial breakthrough, bowling Manish Vardhan for 23 after the openers had added 46. Amit Yadav chipped in with two of the next three wickets, while India batsman Saurabh Tiwary failed for the second time in the match, falling to Robin D'Souza for 12. Jakati then sliced through the middle and lower order to finish with 6 for 55, which along with his 4 for 77 from the first innings, gave him his second career ten-wicket haul. Goa now have 8 points, one behind joint-group leaders Rajasthan, Hyderabad and Madhya Pradesh.
Rajasthan and Madhya Pradhesh played out a high-scoring draw at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The highlight of MP's innings of 419 for 5 was a 201-run partnership between Devendra Bundela and Abbas Ali for the fourth wicket. Bundela ended the day unbeaten on 106, while Ali was bowled by Madhur Khatri for 115. Opener Jalaj Saxena narrowly missed out on giving the visitors a third centurion, falling to Deepak Chahar for a well made 96 that included 19 fours. Chahar finished with 1 for 136 from 31 overs. No points were awarded in the game as neither side were able to establish a first-innings lead (MP were not bowled out). The result means Hyderabad joins them at the top of the table having beaten Tripura yesterday.

Group B

Opener Amit Deshpande, who batted for six hours to make 68, and no. 8 Ravi Jangid, who made an unbeaten 28 from 309 balls, giving him a strike rate of 17.07, enabled Vidarbha to cling on for the unlikeliest of draws against Kerala in Malappuram. When the visitors had slumped to 49 for 6, with four of the top seven batsmen failing to score, a crushing defeat seemed the only possible outcome. Deshpande and Jangid, however, defied the bowlers for the next 51.2 overs, adding 83 runs in the process. By the time Sony Cheruvathur trapped Deshpande leg before, Vidarbha only needed to survive a further seven overs. They lost Azhar Sheikh, caught behind off Prasanth Parameswaran in the next over to set the nerves jangling again, but Shrikant Wagh stuck it out alongside Jangid to foil Kerala's bid to pick up their first win of the season.
Services picked up their first win of the season, thumping Jammu & Kashmir by an innings and 127 runs at the Harbax Singh Stadium in Delhi. Resuming on their overnight score of 57 for 2, the visitors soon lost Asif Jeelani, leg before to Suraj Yadav, for 18, before a triple-strike left them reeling at 77 for 6. First, Nishan Singh trapped Dhruv Mahajan (1) in front in the 36th over. In the next over, Majid Dhar was run out without scoring by Soomik Chatarjee, and then Nishan returned to bowl Samiullah Beigh for a duck. No. 10 Raman Dutta threw his bat around to make 49 from 38, with seven fours, and added 58 with Hardeep Singh to prolong the innings. Hardeep was eventually run out by Tahir Khan for 40, and Arnav Kush wrapped up the game when he had Dutta caught one short of his half-century. Services moved up to third in the points table, trailing Maharashtra and Kerala.
Satyakumar Verma's highest first-class score helped Andhra Pradesh pick up three points for taking a first-innings lead over Maharashtra in Vishakapatnam. Verma batted for seven hours to make 117, adding 235 with opener Hemal Watekar, who was unlucky to miss out on a hundred of his own, falling to Samad Fallah two runs short of the landmark after facing 330 balls and batting for seven hours and 39 minutes. Shrikant Mundhe took 5 for 74 for the visitors, but it wasn't enough to prevent AP from compiling 380 for 7, 12 more than Maharashtra managed in their first innings.