Matches (11)
IND v ENG (W) (1)
Legends League (1)
Abu Dhabi T10 (3)
SA v BAN (W) (1)
BAN v NZ (1)
AUS v PAK (1)
WI v ENG (1)
SA v WI (A tour) (1)
WI v IRE (EME) (1)

Uttar Pradesh hand Goa first defeat

A round-up of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy matches played on April 10, 2014

Group A

Mukul Dagar's second consecutive half-century helped Uttar Pradesh beat Goa by 48 runs in Rajkot. The defeat was Goa's first in this year's tournament, after they had qualified from the first round with a perfect record. Dagar blasted eight fours and a six during his 38-ball 55, and added 100 for the opening wicket with Prashant Gupta (46) as the team scored at more than nine an over. Goa fought back with two quick wickets, but Eklavya Dwivedi and Rinku Singh added a late surge- 67 off just 35 balls- to lift Uttar Pradesh to 186 for 3. Goa lost wickets right from the off, and were unable to string together any significant partnership to trouble Uttar Pradesh. Amogh Sunil Desai, Rohit Asnodkar and Harshad Hanumant Gadekar all made starts, but none of them could convert it into a fifty, as the Uttar Pradesh bowlers restricted Goa to 138 for 6.
A belligerent half-century Guntashveer Singh underlined Kuldeep Hooda's 5 for 31 to usher Haryana to a six-wicket victory over Jharkhand and clinch second place in the group. Guntashveer mauled seven sixes and was unbeaten on 65 off 44 balls to ensure the bowlers had no chance despite having had a reasonable 147 to defend.
The Haryana openers blazed to 30 in the fourth over and when Jharkhand broke that partnership they might have hoped to strangle the scoring. But Guntashveer spearheaded a fourth-wicket stand of 51 off 32 balls all but sealed victory.
Jharkhand had been invited to bat and their captain Ishank Jaggi raced to 57 off 38 balls, with three fours and three sixes. The top-order rallied around him and a half-century stand for the second wicket built a promising foundation. They were 116 for 3 in the 16th over when Hooda rewrote the script. The middle and lower orders were brushed aside - six wickets for 28 runs - to leave Jharkhand with three losses from three games.

Group B

A 36-ball 75 from the Rajasthan captain Rajesh Bishnoi- his highest Twenty20 score- helped the team chase down 173 against Kerala with one ball remaining to secure a three-wicket win. Rajasthan were precariously placed at 94 for 5 before Bishnoi, coming in at No.7, swung the momentum by striking five fours and six sixes, and added 70 for the sixth wicket with Divya Pratap Singh. Bishnoi fell in the penultimate over, but Divya Pratap held his nerve to take Rajasthan home. Kerala had earlier made 172 for 3 on the back of a 102-run stand for the third wicket between Sanju Samson (68) and Rohan Prem (48).
An incisive bowling performance from Delhi helped set up a seven-wicket win against Bengal at the Wankhade Stadium. Bengal put in to bat, could only muster 119 from their 20 overs as two wickets apiece from Sumit Narwal (2-13, including a maiden), Javed Khan and Varun Sood prevented them from gathering any momentum. Shreevats Goswami top-scored with 45, but none of the other batsmen made more than 16. Delhi lost Puneet Bisht in the second over of their chase, but a 76-run association for the second wicket between Mohit Sharma (41) and Samarth Singh (39) took them closer. Both batsmen fell off consecutive deliveries in the 15th over, but Yogesh Nagar and Jagrit Anand held their nerve to seal the victory with one over remaining.