At Kandy, December 16. West Indies won by eight wickets. West Indies 5 pts. Toss: West Indies. International debuts: D. Brown, R. O. Hinds.

Both teams entered the last qualifier on four points, but West Indies were virtually certain of joining Sri Lanka in the final by the 27th over, when their swing bowlers reduced Zimbabwe to 53 for seven. Darryl Brown claimed three for 21 from ten consecutive overs on his international debut. But at the other end, Hooper's decision to replace Collymore with his own off-spin slightly relaxed the pressure. Streak made a patient 57 and helped add 101 for the last three wickets. West Indies still cruised home with 16 overs to spare. Gayle, out of touch until now, scored just five runs from his first 31 balls, then exploded to hit 80 off his next 48, as both Friend and Brent disappeared for 16 in an over.

Man of the Match: C. H. Gayle.