Who makes it to our Mumbai Indians all-time XI?

Not a difficult task picking this side. Two of the overseas players are shoo-ins, but what about the other two?

In this series, we compile all-time XIs for each IPL team. The rules are simple: the player has to have played at least 20 matches for the franchise (across the IPL and the Champions League T20); one player is eligible for selection in multiple franchises if he so merits, and you can pick only four overseas players.

Mumbai Indians

Four-time IPL champions and two-time Champions League winners, Mumbai Indians' teams are built on a strong domestic core with able support from overseas players. Since 2010, Mumbai have been very consistent with their selections, so our task here wasn't difficult.
The picks
Seven slots were straightforward, without any debate. Rohit Sharma as captain, Kieron Pollard, the Pandya brothers, Harbhajan Singh and the pace-bowling duo of Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah. These players have impactful performances under pressure on multiple occasions and have been Mumbai's core.
The debate
While Pollard and Malinga took two overseas spots, the major contenders for the other two were: Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lendl Simmons and Dwayne Smith. Simmons, an underrated performer for Mumbai, was a clear winner among the batsmen. In 2014, he turned around Mumbai's disastrous start to help them make the playoffs and was the joint second-highest run-getter in the title-winning 2015 edition. As an opener, he averages an impressive 40.51 and strikes at 125.80. The last overseas slot was down to the two left-arm quicks. If you look at the stats, Johnson is a tad better than McClenaghan. He averages 23.15 and concedes 7.49 runs per over and has a strike rate of 18.5. McClenaghan averages 25.39, concedes 8.49 runs per over and has a strike rate of 17.9. We went with McClenaghan over Johnson since he has played twice the matches for Mumbai and has been able to maintain these stats for many seasons. His ability to dismiss key opposition batsmen and bowl across all phases of the innings make him a more versatile and a reliable option.
Two domestic spots remain. Mumbai have never had a wicketkeeper who played across many seasons. Three keepers made the cutoff - (Quinton de Kock was not eligible since he is yet to play 20 matches) - Dinesh Karthik, who had a stellar two years with them, Parthiv Patel and Ambati Rayudu. All three have kept in more than 25 games but none had the stats that made them automatic picks. We went with Rayudu for his sheer experience of playing 136 matches and his ability to bat anywhere in the top seven. Rayudu has played in all positions from three to seven for Mumbai and often helped the franchise get across the line from tricky situations. With seven bowling options in our XI, we went for a batsman for the last slot. Sachin Tendulkar, Surya Kumar Yadav and the two keepers, Patel and Karthik, were in the fray. We chose Tendulkar, who made 2599 runs at 32.48 and a strike rate of 118.62. He will be an ideal partner to open with Simmons. Tendulkar's experience and stature were important in the first few years of the IPL and his selection will ensure full houses every time Mumbai play.
This gives the team seven batsmen, three allrounders and seven bowling options, with two of the world's best death bowlers.

Playing XI stats for Mumbai Indians

1. Sachin Tendulkar
91 matches (2008-2013)
Runs 2599, Ave 32.48, SR 118.62
2. Lendl Simmons
32 matches (2014-2017)
Runs 1175, Ave 40.51, SR 125.80
3. Ambati Rayudu (wk)
136 matches (2010-2017)
Runs 2635, Ave 24.39, SR 123.36
17cts, 3 stumpins (from 27 matches as keeper)
4. Rohit Sharma (capt)
152 matches (2011-19)
Runs 4001, Ave 32.00, SR 130.62
5. Kieron Pollard
170 matches (2010-19)
Runs 3258, Ave 28.83, SR 146.49
Wkts 66, Ave 31.19, ER 8.70
6. Hardik Pandya
66 matches (2015-19)
Runs 1068, Ave 28.86, SR 154.78
Wkts 42, Ave 31.26, ER 9.06
7. Krunal Pandya
55 matches (2016-19)
Runs 891, Ave 26.20, SR 146.06
Wkts 40, Ave 28.20, ER 7.16
8. Harbhajan Singh
154 matches (2008-2017)
Wkts 147, Ave 26.55, ER 6.96
9. Mitchell McClenaghan
56 matches (2015-2019)
Wkts 71, Ave 25.39, ER 8.49
10. Jasprit Bumrah
80 matches (2013-2019)
Wkts 85, Ave 26.65, ER 7.57
11. Lasith Malinga
137 matches (2009-2019)
Wkts 195, Ave 19.36, ER 7.12
Want to pick your own Mumbai Indians XI? Head over to our readers' voting page here.
More all-time IPL XIs here

Gaurav Sundararaman is a senior stats analyst at ESPNcricinfo