At Sydney, January 31, 2016 (floodlit). India won by seven wickets. Toss: Australia. Twenty20 international debuts: C. T. Bancroft, U. T. Khawaja.
Australia shuffled the pack again: this time the selectors dealt five changes, including two more debutants. One alteration was forced by Finch's hamstring, which allowed Watson to captain in a T20 for the first time, in what turned out to be his final international in Australia. He responded magnificently, cracking an unbeaten 124 - the second-highest in 20-over internationals, after Finch's 156 against England at Southampton in 2013 - in the lead-up to the IPL auction and the World Twenty20. At last, Australia had a serious total to defend. But India weren't fussed: Sharma, Dhawan and Kohli calmly reduced the target to 51 with five overs remaining, before Raina and Yuvraj Singh grabbed the reins. It was an exhilarating finale. India needed 17 off Andrew Tye's final over, but Yuvraj thwacked a four and a six, then Raina finished things off with a last-ball four. Raina was onl there at the death because of a missed stumping by newcomer Cameron Bancroft off the impressive leg-spin of Boyce; it was Raina's second ball, and he celebrated by hoisting the next for six. The recently retired Brad Haddin was critical of the experiment with part-timer Bancroft: "It's a specialist position, the same as a spinner or an opening bowler, so you pick your best wicketkeeper." It highlighted the difference between the sides: a stable India, in form and sure of individual roles, completing a whitewash over a mutable Australia, desperately seeking a winning formula.
Man of the Match: S. R. Watson. Man of the Series: V. Kohli.