World T20 2014 news October 27, 2013

Cox's Bazaar dropped as World T20 venue

ESPNcricinfo staff

Cox's Bazaar has been dropped as a venue for the 2014 World T20 to be held in Bangladesh between March 16 and April 6. Sylhet, another venue considered doubtful due to ongoing work at the stadium, has been retained.

On Sunday, the ICC announced that Sylhet would host all first-round fixtures of the Women's World T20 and a few group matches of the World T20, along with Mirpur and Chittagong. All six knockout matches will be played in Mirpur.

Sylhet and Cox's Bazaar were in doubt because of ongoing development in the stadiums and were given an extension by the ICC till November 30, after accepting Bangladesh Cricket Board's request. The original deadline for the completion of the stadiums was September 30.

Campbell Jamieson, the ICC general manager - commercial, said he was confident of Bangladesh hosting a tournament successfully, like they have in the past. "Bangladesh hosted the ICC Champions Trophy in 1998 [then known as the ICC KnockOut] and most recently the World Cup 2011, along with India and Sri Lanka. Following the legacies of these two successful events, as well as the U-19 World Cup 2004, I'm confident that Bangladesh will once again produce a world-class tournament."

The format for the World T20 has been modified to accommodate 16 teams in this edition, as compared to 12 in the last edition. The top eight sides of the ICC's T20 team rankings as on October 8, 2012 have been given direct entry into the Super 10 stage. Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, who finished outside the top eight, will compete with six other qualifying teams in the first round from March 16 to 21 for the remaining two places in the Super 10 groups.

The eight teams in the first round have been divided into two groups of four teams each with table-toppers progressing to the next stage. The six qualifying teams to join the first round will be decided at the end of the World T20 qualifiers to be held in the UAE between November 15 and 30. If Bangladesh reach the Super 10 stage, they will play all their matches in Mirpur, facing West Indies, India, Pakistan and Australia.

The Super 10 stage will commence with a match between India and Pakistan in Mirpur on March 21. West Indies will begin their title defence on March 23 against India in Mirpur and will play the rest of their group matches against Pakistan, Australia and a qualifying team.

The women's teams, increased from eight to ten, have been divided into two groups of five teams each. Australia, the women's T20 defending champions, will start their campaign for a third title against New Zealand on March 23. The knockout games for both tournaments will be played on the same day at the same venue.

Jamieson said a large chunk of the tickets for the tournament will be available locally: "The majority of tickets will be available for the public here in Bangladesh. I mean a very high percentage, a significant proportion. Moneygram outlets throughout the country. I anticipate the demand for tickets will far outweigh the supply, which is great for the game of cricket but it is a challenge when the sales takes place." Tickets go on sale from November 10.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on October 29, 2013, 10:52 GMT

    If its real cricket world cup so why all full members not participate for qualification round just two team from full member and other associate teams. If its cricket role to full member teams play directly to the world than why Bangladesh and Zimbabwe not playing.

  • Shahzaib on October 28, 2013, 19:59 GMT

    Why can't cricket take a leaf out of soccer's book, and guarantee qualification ONLY to the defending champions and the host nation? It'll be a massive slap in the face of the administrators if Bangladesh fails to qualify... Which might not be so far-fetched given the strength of nations like Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe... Very rarely has the ICC been able to organize successful multi-nation tournaments without a major controversy... Let's see if this one bucks the trend.

  • Dummy4 on October 28, 2013, 12:58 GMT

    @ Rohit... it will be foolish to count NZ out in T20 !!! they have some world class hitters nd a very good T20 unit

  • Stark on October 28, 2013, 10:39 GMT

    @ Perera32 Umm.......

    You do realise Pak is 2nd, Ind 3rd and the Windies 4th in the T20 rankings?!?!

    The three best teams after SL are in the same group, so how does that work out?

  • Dummy4 on October 28, 2013, 10:10 GMT

    As far as the ICC is concerned the 'World' consists of 10 Countries!

  • Manesh on October 28, 2013, 10:04 GMT

    It will be the first time in any sports that the hosts are not participating the main tournament! Afgan will qualify for sure. And based on recent form, Zim got the chance. I think Afgan is far better than Srilanka who do not have performing youngsters in their team.

  • mohammad on October 28, 2013, 9:48 GMT

    Bangladesh will be knocked out from the first round by Ireland and we will never watch the games going to Stadium.Shame on ICC financial management.

  • Cyril on October 28, 2013, 9:42 GMT

    Scrap this nonsensical tournament and put T20 in the Commonwealth Games, a gold medal would mean so much more and provide incentive for non-established nations to invest, alternative sources of sponsorship and a wider audience.

    MCC is lobbying for the inclusion of T20 at 2022 Olympics, this should be supported by all cricket lovers. But first get it in the Commonwealths and test the global appeal. Cricket needs to stop resting on its Indian Rupee and think bigger and better, with long-term goals for expansion.

  • Dummy4 on October 28, 2013, 9:33 GMT

    that is So Good let's who is the Win the Game Trophy but i wish the we win INDIA .............?

  • Suss on October 28, 2013, 7:45 GMT

    @Rohit... : Mate, the teams are put into groups according to their Ranking position in T20's. The ICC doesn't single handed put whatever teams they want into whatever group. The reason Bangladesh is not in a group yet is because they a in a very low rank atm. There are 2 higher ranked teams in each group (SL, SA, IND, PAK) and two lower rank teams in each group (AUS, NZ, ENG, WI). However I do agree group 2 is stronger despite the rankings.