Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2013-14, South Zone April 4, 2014

Karnataka skittled for 66 in mismatch

ESPNcricinfo staff

Goa made it four wins out of four in spectacular fashion, bowling out Karnataka, the Ranji Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy champions, for 66 in Visakhapatnam. The win also helped them qualify for the second round of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy as the top team in the South Zone. Chasing 175, Karnataka were bowled out with 6.4 overs still remaining, with only two of their batsmen getting into double figures. Medium-pacer Harshad Gadekar started the collapse, taking two of the first three wickets, before the spinners took over, left-arm spinner Darshan Misal finishing with career-best figures of 3 for 16 and offspinner Amit Yadav picking up two wickets.

Having chosen to bat, Goa began authoritatively, with their in-form openers adding 145 in 14.5 overs. Swapnil Asnodkar was out for a 40-ball 51, while Sagun Kamat carried on to score 95 off 61 balls. Karnataka pulled things back after their partnership, taking six wickets for just 29 runs in the last 32 balls of the innings, but 174 proved more than enough for Goa in the end.

Kerala sneaked home by two wickets against Tamil Nadu in a tense finish in Visakhapatnam. Chasing 157, Kerala looked all but out of it at 143 for 8 in the 19th over, but an unbeaten 18 by the No.9 P Prashant took them home in the final over. Earlier, M Vijay's 87 went in vain for Tamil Nadu. He added 80 with B Aparajith for the second wicket and his 52-ball knock included nine fours and three sixes.

Kerala were in trouble early in their chase and were at 23 for 3 in the fifth over. Rohan Prem and VA Jagadeesh then stabilized the chase with a stand of 56 for the fourth wicket before Jagadeesh fell for 31. Jafar Jamal then blazed 41 off just 14 balls, with four sixes to give Kerala the edge. But Tamil Nadu snatched the back the advantage thanks to the seamer V Yo Mahesh, who got rid of Jamal and Pallam Anfal off successive deliveries. Mahesh later got rid of the well-set Prem and it was down to Prashant to try and knock off the remaining 14 runs. Prashant hit two fours and a six to guide Kerala to their second win.

Andhra may have lost their first three matches in the tournament but they shot back magnificently with a crushing eight-wicket win against Hyderabad. Putting Hyderabad in to bat, Andhra struck in the fourth ball of the innings, with B Sudhakar picking up the wicket of DB Ravi Teja, who had scored a century a three days ago. Hyderabad's stocks took further plunge as D Shivkumar picked two wickets in two balls in his second over and, a 27-run stand for sixth wicket aside, never gained momentum.

They were bowled out for a paltry 76, which Andhra, despite losing their first wicket early, chased down in the 12th over. Shivkumar, who proved to be unplayable, finished with enviable figures of 4-3-6-4 while Sudhakar finished with 3 for 9.

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • Dummy4 on April 7, 2014, 5:15 GMT

    I vouch the comments given above. KRN players must have been in IPL7 dream with Vit-M & all luxuries and what not. I think it was a self-defeat by themselves. Planned and executed very well by a black sheep. Hereafter Media should never hype youngsters with just their 6months / 1 year performance. They start thinking too much of themselves and spoil their career. Vinay very badly need a loyal back-up players.

  • Dummy4 on April 5, 2014, 16:50 GMT

    Karnataka's saviors in batting is Karun and Uthappa. Hyped KL Rahul, with the blessings from selectors, has been managing to go with so-so peformance after one big hit. Instead selectors hyping him as "He is India level product", they should mentor him properly for Karnataka. Don't know what other batsmen were doing, esp Model Manish. Bowling team is just with a solo performer Vinaykumar. How he always can get 3-4 wickets in every match? I think the players are deeply dreaming about their big prize of IPL7. Hope the players will wake up from their dream.

  • Rajesh on April 4, 2014, 15:29 GMT

    Karnataka have been abysmal is T20 championship. Either they lost interest after winning Ranji, Irani and ODI championship OR they just did not care OR too much dependence on Vinay Kumar in bowling and Uthappa & Karun Nair in batting. Manish Pandey has been a big disappointment in ODIs and T20s with average of 14.38 & 19.35. So is K L Rahul with 29.88 and 13.25. CM Gautam and Amit Verma have been passengers. Still Karnataka managed to win ODI trophy due to stellar efforts from Vinay, Nair and Uthappa. Vinay again showed how good a bowler he is in T20 by taking 15-0-76-8 in 4 matches so far at an avg pf 9.5 and economy of 5.07. It has been a forgettable T20 championship for Karnataka.

  • No featured comments at the moment.