Australia win Rose Bowl with narrow victory

Australia Women 267 for 9 (Cameron 66, Tahuhu 3-47, Satterthwaite 3-59) beat New Zealand Women 260 for 8 (Bates 54, Browne 63) by seven runs

Australia Women won the Rose Bowl 3-1 with a seven-run victory in the final ODI in Sydney, following a middle and lower-order collapse from New Zealand Women. Chasing 267, New Zealand were comfortably placed at 220 for 3 in the 43rd over, but lost five wickets for 40 runs and failed to level the series.

New Zealand had made a solid start to the chase, with Suzie Bates continuing her impressive form in the series by making another half-century. Nicola Browne contributed 63 off 71 balls and three of the other top five batsmen got to 30 and beyond.

The Australian turnaround began when Rachael Haynes ran out Katie Perkins for 40, breaking a partnership of 87 with Browne that had taken the visitors to 220. Ellyse Perry then bowled Rachel Priest and Sara McGlashan in successive overs and New Zealand had slumped to 240 for 6 in the 47th over.

With 28 runs needed off the last three overs, Lea Tahuhu hit Sharon Millanta for a six and a four, reducing the equation to 17 off 12 balls. Megan Schutt, however, bowled a superb penultimate over in which she conceded only three runs and dismissed Tahuhu. Browne was out off the first ball of the final over and New Zealand managed only six runs off the remaining deliveries, when they needed 14.

Australia's total had been built on a half-century from Jess Cameron and the 62 runs added by their last two wickets. Cameron made 66 off 56 balls, but her dismissal in the 21st over, with the score on 131 for 2, led to a slump. Australia lost wickets frequently thereafter and were struggling at 205 for 8 in the 39th over.

Perry, however, made an unbeaten 33 off 30 balls, and had partnerships of 37 and 25 with Schutt and Millanta to lead Australia to a match-winning total.

NZ Women 2nd innings Partnerships

1st48SW BatesLR Doolan
2nd75SW BatesAE Satterthwaite
3rd10SW BatesKT Perkins
4th87NJ BrowneKT Perkins
5th6NJ BrowneRH Priest
6th14NJ BrowneSJ McGlashan
7th12NJ BrowneLMM Tahuhu
8th2NJ BrowneRH Candy
9th6RH CandySEA Ruck