Rajshahi Division 2 for 0 trail Dhaka Division 280 (Mahmudullah 57, Farhad Reza 3-41) by 278 runs

After bowling out Dhaka Division for 280, Rajshahi Division played out the one over they had to manoeuvre at the end of Day 1, going to stumps with all wickets intact to set up an interesting second day of the National Cricket League final in Mirpur.

Choosing to field, Rajshahi began ideally, with Shafiul Islam sending back opener Rony Talukder first ball. Shamsur Rahman and Anamul Haque put on a half-century partnership to steady Dhaka briefly, before a double-strike reduced them from 55 for 1 to 56 for 3. From then on the spinners - left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib and offspinner Farhad Hossain - took over, periodically striking to finish with five wickets between them. The middle order produced valuable cameos - Mahmudullah and Elias Sunny scoring fifties - to carry Dhaka to 280, but none of them could kick on to make a big score. First-change bowler Farhad Reza cleaned up the tail without too much effort late in the day, to finish with 3 for 41 off 17 overs.

Rajshahi's openers Jahurul Islam and Junaid Siddique survived the six-ball crack Dhaka had at them prior to stumps, and will resume Day 2 on 2 for no loss.